IEEE William M. Habirshaw Award


About Award

IEEE William M. Habirshaw Award.jpg

The William M. Habirshaw Award was established in 1958 through agreement between the Phelps Dodge Foundation and the American Institute of Electrical Engineers, and continued by the Phelps Dodge Cable and Wire Company, Division of Phelps Dodge Industries, Inc. and the Board of Directors of the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers. The funds of the Award were administered by the IEEE Foundation, Inc. Mr. Habirshaw was a distinguished chemist who pioneered in the first a-c high voltage underground cables used in America. The award consists of a bronze medal, a certificate and one thousand dollars. It was awarded each year to an individual or group of individuals who have made outstanding contributions to the field of Electrical Transmission and Distribution by the Board of Directors on the recommendation of the Field Awards Committee to the Awards Board.

This award was discontinued after the 1986 Award and replaced by the IEEE Herman Halperin Electric Transmission and Distribution Award.

Award Recipients