IEEE Awards


About IEEE Awards

Awards Judging, IEEE Headquarters, 1970. All judges are key advertising and agency executives from GE, XEROX, Eastman Kodak, Westinghouse, etc. The smiling man standing to the left of the man in black glasses at the table's center is William ("Bill") R. Saunders, IEEE Spectrum's advertising director in 1969 and its Associate Publisher.

IEEE and its predecessors societies have long given awards to recognize a variety of outstanding achievements in fields of interest. IEEE's Edison Medal was first awarded by organizational predecessor AIEE in 1909 to Elihu Thomson; IEEE's Medal of Honor, the Institute's highest award, was first awarded by organizational predecessor IRE in 1917 to Edwin H. Armstrong.

IEEE Corporate Awards are administered by the IEEE Awards Board on behalf of the IEEE Board of Directors. These awards shall recognize outstanding contributions that advance technology for the benefit of humanity. All IEEE Medals, including the IEEE Medal of Honor - IEEE's highest-level award - are presented at the annual IEEE Honors Ceremony. Descriptions of the awards, and a complete list of recipients can be found here. To view past Honors Ceremonies, visit the IEEE Awards Channel on

For citations of the medal winners through 1984, see section one of the IEEE book A Century of Honors.

List of IEEE Awards


Technical Field Awards


Service Awards

Corporate Recognitions

Fellowships and Scholarships

Discontinued Awards

IEEE Award Recipient Series: Q&As with Icons of Engineering & Technology

IEEE's most illustrious Award Recipients provide us with a glimpse into their upbringings, their personal interests, and share some career advice in these brief introspectives.