IEEE Life Member Graduate Study Fellowship in Electrical Engineering


About the Award

The IEEE Life Member Graduate Study Fellowship in Electrical Engineering was established by the IEEE Board of Directors in February 2000. The fellowship is administered by the IEEE Awards Board, and is financed by the IEEE Life Members Fund.

The fellowship is awarded annually to a first year*, full-time graduate student obtaining their Masters for work in the area of electrical engineering, at an engineering school/program of recognized standing worldwide. The award carries a stipend of US$10,000 per year. The stipend will be paid directly to the college/university at which the recipient will pursue full-time graduate study. The college/university will be asked to disburse the funds, on behalf of the recipient. However, any unused portion can be returned to the recipient along with the necessary documentation for tax-reporting purposes.

This fellowship could be renewable for a second year, based on the recipient's satisfactory progress in the graduate program. Therefore, two overlapping fellowships could be awarded in a given year. The recipient will be notified by mid February.

To be eligible, the applicant must have majored in the field of electrical engineering and have received a Bachelor's Degree from an engineering college of recognized standing worldwide.

The recipient of this fellowship may hold or receive other fellowships for the same academic year. Earnings for work which is directly related to the graduate study is also allowed. These fellowships may be supplemented by the graduate institution with other fellowship, assistantship or tuition scholarship support in accordance with their internal guidelines for total support. The recipient must pursue full-time graduate work in electrical engineering. Evidence of satisfactory academic performance is required midway in the academic year in order for the recipient to continue under the fellowship.

The award was discontinued in November 2015 and transferred to the IEEE Education Activities Board.

Award Recipients

  • 2015 - 2016, Shivani Mehta, Georgia Institute of Technology, Atlanta, Georgia, USA
  • 2014 - 2015, Jonathan Dang, University of Hawaii at Manoa, Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
  • 2013 - 2014, Ashanthi S. Maxworth, University of Colorado, Denver, CO
  • 2012 - 2013, Lisa Pinals, Columbia University, New York, NY, USA
  • 2011 - 2012, Russell Willmot, University of Michigan, Ann Arbor, MI
  • 2010 - 2011, Ailar Javadi, Georgia Institute of Technology Atlanta, GA
  • 2009 - 2010, Yiming Xiao, McGill University Quebec, Canada
  • 2008 - 2009, Andrea Pellegrini, University of Michigan Ann Arbor, MI
  • 2007 - 2008, Ruilin Pei, Darwin College Cambridge, UK
  • 2006 - 2007, Radhika Niranjan Mysore, Georgia Institute of Technology Atlanta, GA
  • 2005 - 2006, Vandana Mohan, Georgia Institute of Technology Atlanta, GA
  • 2004 - 2005, Antimony Gerhardt, Massachusetts Institute of Technology Cambridge, MA
  • 2003 - 2004, Konstantinos Zachariadis, Northwestern University Evanston, IL
  • 2002 - 2003, Rajaraman Parameswaran, Virginia Tech University Blacksburg, VA