IEEE Charles LeGeyt Fortescue Scholarship


About the Award

Charles LeGeyt Fortescue

The Charles LeGeyt Fortescue Scholarship was established in 1939 as a memorial to Charles LeGeyt in recognition of his valuable contributions to the field of electrical engineering.

The scholarship carries a stipend of up to US$24,000 and is awarded for one year of full-time graduate work obtaining their Masters in electrical engineering at an engineering school of recognized standing located in the United States. This scholarship is awarded annually.

To be eligible, the student must be a permanent resident of the United States and have majored in the field of electrical engineering and have received a Bachelor's Degree from an engineering college of recognized standing. The Scholarship will be awarded to a first-year full time graduate student only.*

The recipient of this scholarship may hold or receive other scholarships for the same academic year. Earnings for work which is directly related to the graduate study is also allowed. These scholarships may be supplemented by the graduate institution with other scholarship, assistantship or tuition scholarship support in accordance with their internal guidelines for total support. The recipient must pursue full-time graduate work in electrical engineering.

The award was discontinued in November 2015 and transferred to the IEEE Education Activities Board.

Award Recipients

  • 2015-2016, Daniel Cambron, University of Kentucky, Lexington, Kentucky, USA
  • 2014-2015, William A. Gaviria Rojas, Northwestern University, Evanston, Illinois, USA
  • 2013-2014, Ryan P. Tortorich, Louisiana State University, Baton Rouge, LA
  • 2012-2013, Isaac Kauver, Stanford University, Stanford, CA
  • 2011-2012, Jacob Block, Georgia Institute of Technology, Atlanta, GA
  • 2010-2011, Stephane B. Henrion, Georgia Institute of Technology Atlanta, GA
  • 2009-2010, Gabriel Cohn, University of Washington WA, USA
  • 2008-2009, Cory Antosh, Air Force Institute of Technology WPAFB, OH
  • 2007-2008, Scott Cromar, University of Illinois Champaign, IL - and - Faramarz Blorian Kashi Stanford University Stanford, CA
  • 2006-2007, Alicia Kay Mylin, University of Kentucky Lexington, KY
  • 2005-2006, Paolo Batoni, University of North Carolina, Charlotte Charlotte, NC
  • 2003-2004, DeLynn Bettencourt, University of California, Berkeley Berkeley, CA
  • 1996-1997, Michael J. Gordon, Massachusetts Institute of Technology Cambridge, MA
  • 1994-1995, Jeffrey A. Meunier, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign Urbana, IL
  • 1992-1993, Ronald Ho Stanford, University Stanford, CA
  • 1990-1991, Alfred Kwok-Kit Wong, University of California, Berkeley Berkeley, CA
  • 1988-1989, Mark Allan Johnson, Massachusetts Institute of Technology Cambridge, MA
  • 1987-1988, Kumar N. Sivarajan, California Institute of Technology Pasadena, CA
  • 1986-1987, Richard I. Klaus, Washington State University Pullman, WA
  • 1985-1986, Brian P. Brandt, Stanford University Stanford, CA
  • 1984-1985, Joy Aloyusius, Thomas Stanford University Stanford, CA
  • 1983-1984, Thomas Petsche, Princeton University Princeton, NJ
  • 1982-1983, Seshadri Subbanna, University of California, Santa Barbara Santa Barbara, CA
  • 1981-1982, James E. Dvorsky, Carnegie-Mellon University Pittsburgh, PA
  • 1980-1981, Thomas Edward McDermott Rensselaer, Polytechnic Institute Troy, NY
  • 1979-1980, Scott H. Goodwin, Rensselaer Polytechic Institute Troy, NY
  • 1978-1979, Michael E. Mauel, Massachusetts Institute of Technology Cambridge, MA
  • 1977-1978, Michael R. Lowry, Massachusetts Institute of Technology Cambridge, MA
  • 1976-1977, Victor Hon-Lam Cheng, University of California, Berkeley Berkeley, CA
  • 1975-1976, Dean Paul Kolba, Rice University Houston, TX
  • 1974-1975, David J. Reinagel, University of California, Berkeley Berkeley, CA
  • 1973-1974, (Special Award) Jerry M. Harris, California Institute of Technology Pasadena, CA
  • 1973-1974, Harold G. Sampson, University of California, Berkeley Berkeley, CA
  • 1972-1973, Alan D. Legatt, Columbia University New York, NY
  • 1971-1972, Richard J. Fisher, University of Pittsburgh Pittsburgh, PA
  • 1970-1971, Alton L. Gilbert, New Mexico State University Las Cruces, NM
  • 1969-1970, Michael H. Hartung
  • 1968-1969, John Gilchrist
  • 1967-1968, John N. Boucher
  • 1966-1967, Bruce Allen Wooley
  • 1965-1966, Wayne T. Otsuki
  • 1964-1965, Stephen F. Nygren
  • 1963-1964, Edgar A. DeMeo and T.G. Sharpe
  • 1961-1962, George W. Gruver
  • 1960-1961, Jeffrey I. Frey
  • 1959-1960, Ira Richer
  • 1958-1959, Thomas J. Harley, Jr.
  • 1957-1958, Sigmund Scala
  • 1956-1957, D.F. Fox and K.F Steffan
  • 1955-1956, Taylor L. Booth
  • 1954-1955, William L. Kilmer
  • 1953-1954, Richard C. Heyser and John M. Tomlinson
  • 1952-1953, Peter A. Rizzi and James E. Shea
  • 1951-1952, Clarence J. Baldwin, Jr.
  • 1950-1951, Robert E. Horn and Robert R. Johnson
  • 1949-1950, Edward F. Koncel, Jr. and James B. Woodford, Jr.
  • 1948-1949, James B. Woodford, Jr.
  • 1947-1948, Theodore Mihran
  • 1946-1947, Paul Kaczmarczik
  • 1945-1946, Morton M. Astrahan
  • 1940-1941, Norman Z. Alcock