IEEE San Diego Section History


IEEE San Diego Section History
Established date 1939-01-18
IEEE Region 6
IEEE Council
Geographic region San Diego
Region area SWA
Principal cities
Home page
List of Subsections in this Section


The San Diego Section is located in Region 6.


In June 2012, the San Diego Section formed a IEEE Broadcast Technology Society Chapter.

Student Branches

The student branch located at the University of Santa Barbara, formed an IEEE Photonics Society Chapter in June 2012.

Past Officers 

Past Chairmen of AIEE Diego Section
Year Name
1939 L.M. Klauber
1940 F.F. Evenson
1941 Walter L. Bryant
1942 Clem J. Nevitt
1943 Bruce B. Gravitt
1944 Willis T. Johnson
1945 Willis Kenline
1946 R.R. Ritchie
1947 Charles F. McCabe
1948 G.E. Jenner
1949 Herbert A. Cordes
1950 Joseph F. Sinnott
1951 J. Paul Conner
1952 O.L. Doolittle
1953 Aylmer H. Keith
1954 I.E. McDougal
1955 E.F. Kotnik
1956 E.B. Love
1957 B.A. Weiss
1958 L.L. LaZelle
1959 M.R. Marston
1960 J.W. Crooks, Jr. 
1961 L.R. Knerr
1962 R.W. Kinslow

Past Chairmen of the IRE San Diego Section
Year Name
1945 Edwin B. Robinson
1946 David C. Kalbfell
1947 Rawson Bennett
1948 Clyde W. Tirrell
1949 Louis G. Trolese
1950 Dr. Evertt W. Thatcher
1951 John P. Day
1952 Victor Welge
1953 Chesney R. Moe
1954 William S. Ivans
1955 Francis X. Byrnes
1956 Robert A Kirkman
1957 Edward J. Moore
1958 Allan H. Drayner
1959 Raymond J. Cary
1960 Robert E. Honer
1961 David G. DeHaas
1962 Edmond W. Carlson

Past Chairmen of the IEEE San Diego Section
Year Name
1963 Alvord Paull
1964 Kennth R. O'Neal
1965 Fred W. Garrison
1966 Robert R. Hiuely
1967 William A. Davis
1968 Glen C. Eggen
1969 O. Everett Wiedmann
1970 Eric Herz
San Diego Section Officers, 2001-2021
Year Chair Vice chair Secretary Treasurer
2001 Christine Williams Kathleen Kramer Theresa Hache David Bernardin
2002 Kathleen Kramer Donald Pace Jackelyn Nettles Theresa Hache
2003 David Bernardin Howard Pace Edward Brabant Theresa Hache
2004 Steven Adamson Theresa Hache Mark Frankfurth Anthony Spurgin
2005 Theresa Hache Mark Frankfurth John Kelly Anthony Spurgin
2006 Theresa Hache Stephen Mcnally John Kelly L Hamerman
2007 Anthony Spurgin Vaidyanathan Ramasarma John Kelly John Kelly
2008 Ram Parameswaran Shaival Shah / Siriteja Kala Mark Frankfurth Rudi Streif
2009 Mark Frankfurth Anthony Spurgin / Xiao Zhang Theresa Hache Rudi Streif
2010 Mark Frankfurth Xun Luo / Yogen Deshpande Theresa Hache Rudi Streif
2011 Xun Luo Anthony Spurgin / Farrah Pirahanchi Andrew Bera Rudi Streif
2012 Xun Luo Anthony Spurgin / Farrah Pirahanchi Theresa Hache Rudi Streif
2013 Stephen Smiley Wilson Seto / Tony Babaian Theresa Hache
2014 Stephen Smiley Anthony Spurgin / Xun Luo Theresa Hache / David Bernardin
2015 Upkar Dhaliwal Xun Luo / Michael Davis Gabriel Alcala
2016 Upkar Dhaliwal Enrique Monteagudo / Xun Luo Gabriel Alcala
2017 Gabriel Alcala Enrique Monteagudo / Upkar Dhaliwal Natasha Balac
2018 Gabriel Alcala Enrique Monteagudo / Upkar Dhaliwal Theresa Burke
2019 Kathy Hayashi Douglass Evans / Zhensheng Zhang Theresa Burke
2020 Kathy Hayashi Zhensheng Zhang / Hua Zhu Omar Bautista
2021 Zhensheng Zhang Omar Bautista / Douglass Evans Yi Cao / Lai Xu Hua Zhu

Archive Documents

Further Reading

Link to Section Homepage