2001 IEEE Conference on the History of Telecommunications

From ETHW

2001 IEEE Conference on the History of Telecommunications[edit | edit source]

Cht.jpg

The 2001 IEEE Conference on the History of Telecommunications (CHT2001) was the fourth in a series of workshops sponsored by the IEEE History Committee and the IEEE History Center at Rutgers University. The profound role telecommunications has had in shaping the modern world made this an important topic of historical study!

This workshop was held at Memorial University of Newfoundland in St. John's, Canada. This was an ideal site for such as meeting. It was here on 12 December 1901 that Guglielmo Marconi received the first transatlantic radio signal. 27 July 2001 was the 135th anniversary of the landing of the first transatlantic cable at Heart's Content in Newfoundland.

A total of 27 papers were submitted for this conference, of which 18 are available online.

In 2001 a special feature was added to the workshop, a worldwide Student History Paper Contest. A grant from the IEEE Foundation made it possible to provide travel funds for the winners of the contest. Additional funds for the conference were supplied by the National Science Foundation. The five papers, presented in a poster session are also available online.

Roster/Contact Info[edit | edit source]

Attendee Organization E-Mail
Bissell, Christopher UK Open University's Faculty of Technology c.c.bissell@open.ac.uk
Bowers, Brian Science Museum, London b.bowers@iee.org
Barnes, Sue Fordham University barnes@fordham.edu
Burns, Bill Atlantic-Cable.com billb@ftldesign.com
Carlson, Bernard University of Virginia wc4p@virginia.edu
Carvallo- Fernandini, Rodrigo Catholic U., Valparaiso, Chile r_fernandini@usa.net
Chapuis, Robert International Telecommunications Union n/a
Collins, Martin National Air and Space Museum, Smithsonian Institution martin.collins@nasm.si.edu
Connolly, Cornelia University of Limerick, Ireland Cornelia.Connolly@ul.ie
Crowther-Heyck, Hunter University of Oklahoma crowther-heyck@prodigy.net
de Cogan, Donard University of East Anglia (UEA) Norwich ddc@sys.uea.ac.uk
Dewalt, Bryan Canada Science and Technology Museum bdewalt@nmstc.ca
Dilhac, Jean-Marie Institut National des Sciences Appliquees of Toulouse dilhac@laas.fr
Finn, Barney National Museum of American History, Smithsonian Institution finnb@si.edu
Frazer, Edward E. J. Frazer & Associates Ltd. ejfrazer@sfu.ca
Freeze, Karen University of Washington freezek@u.washington.edu
Fridlund, Mats Massachusetts Institute of Technology fridlund@mit.edu
Geselowitz, Michael IEEE History Center m.geselowitz@ieee.org
Graham, Margaret McGill University grahamm@management.mcgill.ca
Hayes, Jeremiah (Jerry) Concordia University jerry@ece.concordia.ca
Heyes, Howard Memorial University of Newfoundland howard@engr.mun.ca
Hochfelder, David IEEE History Center hochfeld@rci.rutgers.edu
Hoffman, Mary Ann IEEE History Center m.hoffman@ieee.org
Hong, Sungook University of Toronto sungook@chass.utoronto.ca
Izawa, Tatsuo NTT Electronics Corporation izawa@hqs.nel.co.jp
Levine, Gertrude (Trudy) Fairleigh Dickinson University levine@alpha.fdu.edu
Magoun, Alexander David Sarnoff Library amagoun@davidsarnoff.org
Malik, Rahul Nanyang Technological U., Singapore rahulm@ieee.org
Moloney, Cecilia Memorial University of Newfoundland moloney@engr.mun.ca
Morton, David IEEE History Center d.morton@ieee.org
Nebeker, Jakob University of Illinois nebeker@uiuc.edu
Nebeker, Rik IEEE History Center r.nebeker@ieee.org
Olivier, Guy Ecole Polytechnique Montreal guy.olivier@courriel.polymtl.ca
Read, Wallace Board of Commissioners of Public Utilities w.read@ieee.org
Sappol, Michael National Library of Medicine SappolM@mail.nlm.nih.gov
Schwartz, Mischa Columbia University schwartz@ctr.columbia.edu
Sloan, Martha Michigan Tech University m.sloan@ieee.org
Stone, Gerry n/a n/a
Swartzlander, Earl University of Texas, Austin swartzla@ece.utexas.edu
Symons, Lenore Institution of Electrical Engineers lsymons@iee.org.uk
Tanaka, Keiko University of Washington keiko-tanaka@msn.com
Voss, Robert n/a telegraphy@prodigy.net
Walp, Robert GCI, Inc. rwalp@gci.com

Invited Papers[edit | edit source]

Full program with abstracted papers

Brief conference program

Session 1: Technology and Business Strategy: Part 1[edit | edit source]

Session 2: Technology and Business Strategy: Part 2[edit | edit source]

Session 3: Submarine Telephony[edit | edit source]

Session 4: Politics and Communications Technology[edit | edit source]

Session 5: Assessing Stature in the History of Telecommunications: Part 1[edit | edit source]

  • Cooke and Wheatstone, and Morse: A Comparative View, Brian Bowers
  • The First Transatlantic Wireless Telegraphy in 1901: Collaboration or Competition between Guglielmo Marconi and John Ambrose Fleming?, Sungook Hong
  • Promotion versus Manufacturing as a Strategy for Earning Money from Inventions: Lessons from the Career of Nikola Tesla, 1885-1915, W. Bernard Carlson

Session 6: Assessing Stature in the History of Telecommunications: Part 2[edit | edit source]

Session 7: Student History Papers[edit | edit source]

  • The History of CTC and Entel: Precursors of Telecommunications in Chile, Rodrigo Carvallo-Fernandini, Catholic University of Valparaiso, Valparaiso, Chile (Region 9)
  • The History of Telecommunications in Ireland, Cornelia Connolly, University of Limerick, Limerick, Ireland (Region 8)
  • Spread Spectrum - Secret Military Technology to 3G, Rahul Malik, Nanyang Technological University, Singapore (Region 10)
  • Science and Technology: Lord Kelvin's Atlantic Cable, Jakob Nebeker, University of Illinois, Champaign-Urbana, Illinois, USA (Region 4)
  • The Mobile Communications Environment in the European Union: Systems, Regulations, and Consequences in the Past, Present, and Future, Keiko Tanaka, University of Washington, Seattle, Washington, USA (Region 6)

Session 8: Microelectronics and Telecommunications[edit | edit source]

Session 9: Science, Mathematics, and Telecommunications[edit | edit source]

Session 10: The Internet and Earlier Telecommunications Networks[edit | edit source]

Corresponding Papers[edit | edit source]

Student Paper Contest[edit | edit source]

Student Winners: Jakob Nebeker, Keiko Tanaka, Rahul Malik, Cornelia Connolly and Rodrigo Carvallo-Fernandini, (l to r)

Through a generous grant from the IEEE Foundation, CHT2001 conducted its first worldwide history paper competition among the IEEE Student Branches and offered the winners an opportunity to travel to St. John's and present his or her winning paper at a Poster Session during this Conference. In addition, each winner's Student Branch received an honorarium.

The winners attended an Awards Luncheon, sponsored by Aliant, during the conference. Presentation of the Awards was made by Martha Sloan, 2001 IEEE History Committee Chair, and Dr. Maxwell House, Lieutenant- Governor of the Province of Newfoundland and Labrador.

Special recognition goes to Wally Read, Local Arrangements Chair, who arranged for the Lieutenant-Governors attendance, and funding by Aliant.

Undergraduate[edit | edit source]

2nd - The History of CTC and Entel: Precursors of Telecommunications in Chile, Rodrigo Carvallo-Fernandini, Catholic Univ of Valparaiso, Chile (Region 9)

1st - Science and Technology: Lord Kelvin's Atlantic Cable, Jakob Nebeker, University of Illinois, Champaign-Urbana, (Region 4)

Graduate[edit | edit source]

3rd - The History of Telecommunications in Ireland, Cornelia Connolly, University of Limerick, Limerick, Ireland (Region 8)

2nd - Spread Spectrum - Secret Military Technology to 3G, Rahul Malik, Nanyang Technological University, Singapore (Region 10)

1st - The Mobile Communications Environment in the European Union: Systems, Regulations, and Consequences in the Past, Present, and Future, Keiko Tanaka, University of Washington, Seattle, Washington, USA (Region 6)

Awards Luncheon[edit | edit source]

Rodrigo Carvallo-Fernandini with Dr. Maxwell House

Jacob Nebeker

Cornelia Connolly

Rahul Malik

Keiko Tanaka

Committees/Volunteers[edit | edit source]

Organizing Committee

  • Martha Sloan, General Chair
  • Wally Read, Local Arrangements
  • Earl Swartzlander
  • David Mindell

Program Committee

  • Mike Geselowitz, Co-Chair
  • Rik Nebeker, Co-Chair
  • David Morton
  • Dave Hochfelder