IEEE Region 7 (Canada) History

(Redirected from Region 7 (Canada) History)

IEEE Region 7 (Canada) History
Display name Region 7
Region number 7
Geographic regions Canada
Home page
List of Councils in this Region
List of Sections in this Region
List of Subsections in this Region

Are you a member of this region? Please hecrlp expand the article by using the edit tab.

Link to Region 7

Regions map world.jpg

History of IEEE Canada 

Brochure cover.jpg

The early milestones of the AIEE/IRE/IEEE history in Canada include:
(please see below for explanations of mnemonics used)

  • 1884 - AIEE formed in Philadelphia by 25 electrical experts including Thomas Edison and Alexander Graham Bell.
  • 1887 - Canadian Society of Civil (non-military) Engineers (CSCE) formed
  • 1903 - AIEE Toronto Section formed on September 30 at the Engineers Club in Toronto
  • 1912 - IRE formed by merging the Society of Wireless Telegraph Engineers (initiated in Boston in 1907) and the Wireless Institute (initiated in New York in 1909)
  • 1912 - CSCE becomes the Engineering Institute of Canada (EIC)
  • 1921 - AIEE District 10 (Canada) formed on August 1
  • 1925 - IRE Canadian Section formed at Canadian General Electric in Toronto in October
  • 1944 - Ralph Hackbush becomes first Canadian to be IRE Vice-President
  • 1957 - John Henderson becomes first Canadian to be IRE President
  • 1963 - IEEE Region 7 created out of AIEE District 10 (Canada) and IRE Region 8 (Canada) during the merger of AIEE and IRE
  • 1972 - Bob Tanner becomes first Canadian to be IEEE President
  • 1976 - CSEE formed
  • 1990 - CSEE renamed as CSECE
  • 1994 - IEEE Region 7 and CSECE merge to form IEEE Canada

Acronyms used for Society Names

  • AIEE - American Institute of Electrical Engineers
  • EIC - Engineering Institute of Canada
  • CSEE - Canadian Society for Electrical Engineering
  • CSECE - Canadian Society for Electrical and Computer Engineering
  • IEEE - Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers
  • IRE - Institute of Radio Engineers

A brochure outlining the history of IEEE Canada (below left), with focus on the history of past 25 years, was developed for release at Sections Congress 2008, held in Quebec City, PQ, Canada.  The PDF of this brochure can be found here.

Another detailed article outlining the history of IEEE Canada was published in the Fall 2009 issue of the IEEE Canadian Review. This article can be found here.

  • 2010 - The IEEE Region 7 Committee agreed to the formation of a Region 7 History Committee on 2 May 2010.

Region Officers


Canadian Region AIEE Directors
Year Name
1926-30 Henry C. Don Carlos
1930-34 A.B. Cooper
1944-48 M.J. McHenry
1951-53 W.R. Way
1953-55 G.D. Floyd
1955-57 B.G. Ballard
1957-59 G.F. Tracy
1959-61 Rene DuPuis
1961-63 J.P. Skillen


Canadian Section Directors prior to 1944
Year Section Name
1926 Canadian D. Hepburn
1927 & 1928 Canadian A.M. Patience
1929 Toronto A. M. Patience
1931 Toronto J.M. Leslie
1932 Toronto F.K. Dalton
1937 Montreal A.M. Patience
Toronto B. de F. Bayly
1942 Montreal E.A. Laport
Toronto R.H. Klingelhoeffer
Canadian IRE Region Directors
Year Name
1945 R.A. Hackbush 
1948-49 F.S. Howes
1949-50 F.H.R. Pounsett
1951-52 A.B. Oxley
1955-56 J.T. Henderson 
1957-58 A.B. Oxley
1960 B.R. Tupper
1961 A. P. H. Barclay


Canadian Region IEEE Directors
Year Name
1963 J.T. Henderson
1964-65 J.C.R.Punchard
1966-67 Allan B. Oxley
1968-69 Robert H. Tanner
1969-70 George Sinclair
1970-71 Wm. H. Thompson (Secretary in 1973)
1972-73 Douglas M. Hinton (Vice President in 1977)
1974-75 George Sinclair
1976-77 Frank C. Creed
1978-79 E.F. Glass
1980-81 J.J. Archambault
1982-83 Fred J. Heath
1984-85 Wallace S. Read

Region 7 Milestones

Loading map...

Further Reading

Link to Region 7

List of Region 7 Sections' Founding Dates

Electricity, The Magic Medium - A centennial project of the Canadian Region of the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers, a bilingual publication, commemorating 100 years of outstanding achievement by the entire electrical industry of Canada.