IEEE Vancouver Section History

IEEE Vancouver Section History
Established date 1911-08-22
IEEE Region 7
IEEE Council
Geographic region Vancouver
Region area
Principal cities
Home page
List of Subsections in this Section


The Vancouver Section was established on August 22, 1911. The Section encompasses the geographical area of the province of British Columbia, except for Vancouver Island, which is part of the IEEE Victoria Section. The Section currently has around 2200 active members, including 325 students at BCIT, SFU, and UBC. It is the fourth largest Section in Canada. 

The Section operates on a fiscal year that runs from May - April of each year. The Annual General Meeting and election of new officers are held on the second Monday of each May. Meetings and social events are generally held from September - April.

If you are reading this and are disappointed in the level of content for such an ancient section, then please (please) add to it !

History Articles


On February 13, 2010 an Okanagan Subsection ( was established as a subsection of the Vancouver IEEE Section.

On February 13, 2010 a BC Northern Subsection was established as a subsection of the Vancouver IEEE Section.

Chapters & Affinity Groups

In March 2010, an Women in Engineering (WiE) Affinity group was established.

In October 2012, a Consultants Network Affinity group was established.

Historical Milestones

There are four dedications of IEEE Historical Milestones in the Vancouver Section.

Historical Artifacts

Oral Archive

These are a collection of interviews of leaders who have influenced technology in Vancouver.


Please follow the link to create or edit an organization page, or edit this page to add a new organization.

Archival documents

Further Reading

Link to Section Homepage