Mohamed El-Aref El-Hawary


Mohamed El-Aref El-Hawary
Sohag, Egypt
Death date


Mohamed “Mo” El-Aref El-Hawary was born in Sohag, Egypt on 3 February 1943. In 1965, he earned his B.Sc. in Electrical Engineering with Distinction and First Class Honors from the University of Alexandria, Egypt. He earned his Ph.D. in Electrical Engineering from the University of Alberta, Edmonton in 1972, where, from 1970-72, he was an Izaak Walton Killam Memorial Fellow. Afterwards, he taught at the electrical engineering Federal University of Rio de Janeiro and joined the Faculty of Engineering at Memorial University of Newfoundland in 1974, where became chair of the Electrical Engineering Program in 1976. With his wife Ferial El-Hawary, he established a Higher Engineering Research Institute in Rio de Janeiro.

In 1981, he was employed by the Technical University of Nova Scotia as a professor in electrical engineering, where he remained for the remainder of his career. In 1997, Dalhousie University merged with the Technical University of Nova Scotia, and El-Hawary was Associate Dean of Engineering at Dalhousie, 1995-2007; Director of International and External Relations for the Faculty of Engineering, 2008-2009; and Chair of the Senate of Dalhousie University, 2001-2007.

El-Hawary authored more than ten textbooks and almost 200 full journal papers. He was Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineering (IEEE) Press Power Engineering Series Editor, Founding Editor in Chief of the IEEE Systems Man and Cybernetics (SMC) Magazine, Power Letters of PES. He was associate editor for the three major Electric Machines and Power Systems' Journals, and Editor, Electrical Power Engineering, McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science and Technology. He was a Fellow of IEEE, Canadian Academy of Engineering, Engineers Canada and the Engineering Institute of Canada. He was a Distinguished Lecturer of the IEEE Power and Energy Society (PES) and IEEE/SMC.

He served as a member of the Board of Directors and Secretary of IEEE, and as President of IEEE Canada. He served on the IEEE Publication Services and Products Board, Fellows Committee, IEEE Press Board Chairman, Power Engineering Society (PES): System Operations Committee Chair and, member of HKN Board, and Vice President, Development, IEEE Canada Foundation. He has been recipient of IEEE Canada, W. S. Read Service Award, 2010. In 1999 IEEE awarded him the EAB Meritorious Achievement, Power Engineering Educator of the Year, and IEEE Canada General A.G.L McNaughton Gold Medal.