Jerry R. Yeargan

Jerry R. Yeargan
Jerry R. Yeargan


Dr. Jerry R. Yeargan is widely known as a skillful and charismatic diplomat who excels at the art of creative compromise. He has demonstrated these qualities over a long and distinguished career of service, most recently and IEEE representative director on the Accreditation Board for Engineering and Technology (ABET) Board of Directors and as ABET president.

He played a seminal role in the merger of ABET and the Computer Science Accreditation Board, enabling unprecedented synergy in the accreditation of computer science, computer engineering and software engineering programs.

An IEEE Fellow, he has served on the IEEE Board of Directors as vice president of Educational Activities, Hans as president of the IEEE Education Society. Dr. Yeargan also has participated in numerous committees including the IEEE Strategic Planning Committee. He is a Fellow of the American Society for Engineering Education (ASEE) and former chair of the ASEE Electrical Engineering Division.

Dr. Yeargan's many honors include the IEEE Educational Activities Board Meritorious Service Award, the IEEE Education Society Achievement Award, the Arkansas Academy of Electrical Engineering Award, the Halliburton Outstanding Faculty Award and the University of Arkansas College of Engineering Outstanding Service to Students Award.

Dr. Yeargan is the Distinguished Professor and the Texas Instruments Chair of Mixed-Signal and Linear Microelectronics in Electrical Engineering at the University of Arkansas at Fayetteville, where he has taught since 1967. He holds one patent and has published more than 100 papers

Dr. Yeargan was awarded the 2004 IEEE Haradan Pratt Award "For outstanding contributions to the Engineering Accreditation Activities of the IEEE."