Oral-History:Marconi Fellows Oral Histories


Marconi Fellows Oral Histories

The number that follows the interviewee's name is the interview's oral history code number, which uniquely identifies the interview in the IEEE History Center's archive. Please use this number when referring to an oral history.

Over the years, the IEEE History Center has recorded many oral histories with recipients of the Marconi Prize of the Marconi Society. These recipients are collectively known as Marconi Fellows. For more information on Marconi Fellows see:


The following fellows have been interviewed to date:

Eric A. Ash (#231) - Electrical engineer who has specialized in electron optics and ultrasonics.

Paul Baran (#378) - Electrical engineer who is most well-known for his role in the development of packet-switching networks.

Timothy Berners-Lee (#439) - Known as the inventor of the World Wide Web.

Vinton Cerf (#355) - Played a significant role in the setup of ARPANET and developed the Transmission Controlled Protocol (TCP) with Bob Kahn.

John Cioffi (#858) - Considered by many in the field as the “father of DSL”

Federico Faggin (#442) - Developed the Silicon Gate Technology, which made possible the fabrication of semiconductor memories and the microprocessor. He also led the 4004 project at Intel.

James L. Flanagan (#332) - His research has primarily been in voice communications, computer techniques and electroacoustic systems. He was a long-time employee at Bell Labs and served as VP for Research at Rutgers University.

G. David Forney, Jr. (#254) - Research focused on coding theory and information theory. Specific projects include work on error-correcting codes in deep space missions and on modem development.

Robert G. Gallager (#156) - Has focused on information theory and data networks, working in fields such as coding, multi-access communication systems, distributed algorithms, routing, congestion control, and random access techniques. He helped found the Codex Corporation.

Andrea Goldsmith (#871) - Dean of Engineering and Applied Science and the Arthur LeGrand Doty Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering at Princeton University.

Robert N. Hall (#443) - Physicist most known for his work at GE on the semiconductor laser.

Izuo Hayashi (#441) - Played a key role in the development of the laser, and worked on achieving continuous-wave operation of the aluminum gallium arsenide laser at different temperatures.

Irwin Jacobs (#376) - Co-founded the Linkabit consulting company and Qualcomm.

Robert E. Kahn (#432) - Played an instrumental role in the creation of the Internet, from the creation of ARPANET through ARPANET's transformation into the Internet.

Charles K. Kao (#435) - A pioneer in the development of fiber optics for telecommunications and a winner of the 2009 Nobel Prize in Physics.

Leonard Kleinrock (#434) - Played an important role in the development of ARPANET and of packet switching theory. Recipient of the 2007 National Medal of Science.

Herwig Kogelnik (#431) - He made important contributions to laser technologies, including the invention of the distributed feedback laser.

Robert W. Lucky (#361) - Long-time Bell labs employee who invented automatic adaptive equalizers and researched digital switching.

James L. Massey (#447) - Interested in communications engineering and information theory. He did significant work in forward-error-correcting codes, multi-user communications, and cryptographic systems.

Robert M. Metcalfe (#433) - A main contributor to the development of the internet and founder of 3Com.

Brad Parkinson (#379) - Program manager of what would become the Global Positioning System.

Arogyaswami Paulraj (#885) - Developed multiple input-multiple output (MIMO) antenna technologies for wireless communications.

John R. Pierce (#141), Part 1, Part 2, Part 3 - Made many important contributions to microwave and communications technology, including in microwave electron tubes and communications satellites.

Gottfried Ungerboeck (#445) - Electrical engineer known for his work in communications and as the inventor of Trellis Coded Modulation.

Andrew J. Viterbi (#377) - Did theoretical and practical work on digital communications, including the development of the Viterbi algorithm. Co-founded Qualcomm, which developed the OmniTRACS system and the Eudora e-mail program.

Jacob Ziv (#437) - Best known for his work developing the Lempel-Ziv algorithm.