IEEE Western Australia Section History

IEEE Western Australia Section History
Established date 1984-05-24
IEEE Region 10
IEEE Council Australia
Geographic region Western Australia
Region area
Principal cities
Home page
List of Subsections in this Section


The region of Western Australia (WA) was part of the IEEE Australia Section from 1972 through to 1984. It includes Australia's external territories of Christmas Island and Cocos-Keeling Island.

Western Australia Section

This section is located in Region 10 and was inaugrated on the 24 May 1984. Prior to 1984, members located in Western Australia were represented by the Australia Section. The Section is represented at the Australia Council.

Student Branches

The Western Australia Section has three student branches:

  • Curtin University of Technology
  • Murdoch University
  • University of Western Australia (UWA)

The University of WA won the IEEE Australia Council Student Branch competition in 2007.

Section Officers

Western Australia Section Officers
Year Chair Vice-Chair Secretary Treasurer
1984 - 1987 Alan Billings
1988 - 1990 Yianni Attikiouzel
1991 Laurie Faraone
1992 - 1994 Yianni Attikiouzel
1995 - 1996 Dorota Kieronska
1997 - 1998 Harry McDonald
1999 - 2000 Kit Po Wong
2001 - 2002 Lance Fung
2003 - 2004 Douglas Chai
2005 - 2006 <span id="fck_dom_range_temp_1238738311077_823" />Lance Fung
WestAus Fung.jpg
2007 - 2008 Douglas Chai
WestAus Chai.jpg
2009 Kevin Wong
2012 Kevin Kok Wai Wong ChunChe Fung Cesar A Ortega-Sanchez

Archival documents

Further Reading

Link to Section Homepage