IEEE Sri Lanka Section History


IEEE Sri Lanka Section History
Established date 2003-11-14
IEEE Region 10
IEEE Council
Geographic region Sri Lanka
Region area
Principal cities
Home page
List of Subsections in this Section

Link to Section Homepage

Sri Lanka Early Years

Late Sir. Arthur C. Clarke, ex-chancellor, University of Moratuwa and the first non-citizen in Sri Lanka to be granted "Resident Guest" status in 1975 received the 1984 IEEE Centennial Medal.

Mr. Mohamed A. Haleem received the Certificate of Merit in IEEE Postgraduate Student Paper Contest conducted by the IEEE Hong Kong section in 1994.

Prof. S.Ratnajeevan H. Hoole was awarded an IEEE Fellow in 1995. He was the Vice Chancellor of University of Jaffna in Sri Lanka while seconded from his position as Senior Professor of Electrical Engineering at the University of Peradeniya, Sri Lanka.

Mr. N.Rajkumar was the Power Engineering Chapter Chair for the Singapore Section in 1996/1997.

Prof. Wamadeva Balachandran was the recipient of the IEEE John Melcher best paper award in 2000.

Sri Lanka Section

Dr. Sanath Alahakoon of the University of Peradeniya initiated a petition to start the IEEE Sri Lanka Section, with the IEEE Sri Lanka Section being formed 14th November 2003. The boundaries of the Section are the country of Sri Lanka. A tsunami hit Sri Lanka on 26 December 2004. The IPDPS flagship activity of the IEEE Computer Society's Technical Committee on Parallel Processing sadly lost Mrs. Isabelle Attali in the Tsunami - she served as the Industrial Chair travelling to the University of Ruhuna on the southern coast.

IEEE RAB Approved the formation of the IEEE Sri Lanka Central Region Subsection of the Sri Lanka Section on 12 Nov 2005.


In May 2005, the Sri Lanka Computer Chapter was started (C16). Mr. K.P.Hewagamage is the first Chapter Chair.

In November 2010, the Sri Lanka Microwave Theory & Techniques chapter was started.

Section Officers

Sri Lanka Section Officers
Year Chair Vice chair Secretary Treasurer
Year Chair Vice-Chair Sectretary Treasurer
2003 Dr Sanath Alahakoon - - -
2004 Dr Sanath Alahakoon Dr D N Ranasinghe Dileeka Dias Dr G. N. Wikramanayake
2005 Dr Sanath Alahakoon Dr D N Ranasinghe Pubudu P Warusamanna Dr G. N. Wikramanayake
2006 Dr Chandima Ekanayake Dr G. D. S. P. Wimalaratne
SRI PHOTO Wimal.jpg
Dr Thrishantha Nanayakkara Atputharajah Arulampalam / Dr. Kasun De Zoysa
2007 Dr Chandima Ekanayake Dr G. D. S. P. Wimalaratne Biswajith A Dissanayake Dr Thrishantha Nanayakkara
2008 Dr Sisil Kumarawadu
SRI PHOTO Kumarawadu.jpg
Prasad Jayaweera Gihan Seneviratne Atputharajah Arulampalam
2009 Gihan Seneviratne Sudath Munasinghe Gihan Seneviratne Lilantha Samaranayake
2010 Lilantha Samaranayake Disala Uduwawala / Vijitha Herath Chandima Pathiranage Anuja Dharmaratne
2011 Sudath Munasinghe A M Harsha S Abeykoon Mahen Jayawardena Ruwan Ranaweera
2012 Kithangodage Jayaratne Mahen Jayawardena Ruwan Ranaweera / Maheshi Dissanayake Jayathu Samarawickrama
2013 Janaka Ekanayake Maheshi Dissanayake / A M Harsha S Abeykoon Amithalal Caldera
2014 Jayathu Samarawickrama Sarath Sisira Kumara Jangu Ralalage Buddhika Anandasetti
2015 Ruwan Ranaweera P.A.G.S Abeynayake / Ruwan Gopura Maheshi Dissanayake
2016 Sanjeeva Witharana Saranga Abeygunawardane / P.A.G.S Abeynayake Sarath Sisira Kumara Jangu Ralalage
2017 Thantirige Jayawardana Dr. Mrs. Buddhima Subasinghe / Katudampe Vithanage Chathuranga Rasara Samarasinghe
2018 Kithsiri Liyanage Dilrukshi Gamage Thilina Lalitharatne / Katudampe Vithanage Chathuranga
2019 Chandimal Jayawardena Jeevani Jayasinghe Manjula Udayanga Hemapala
2020 Ruwan Gopura Windhya Rankothge Tharaka Samarasinghe
2021 Maheshi Dissanayake Subodha Charles Uditha Navaratne

Student Branches

Student Branchs
Year  University Councilor



Branch Councilor Ph: +1 215 895 2414

IEEE University of Moratuwa Student Branch, Sri Lanka

The IEEE University of Moratuwa Student Branch was established in September 2008 with the aim of developing the professional skills of undergraduates in the disciplines of Electronic and Telecommunication Engineering, Electrical Engineering and Computer Science and Engineering at the university. The university being the largest gathering of students in the disciplines of engineering related to Information Communication Technology in the country, the establishment of the IEEE Student Branch at the institution surely seems the fulfilment of a necessity.

With intentions of developing the skills of budding engineers of tomorrow the Student Branch has come up with many programs within the first six months. The first event was a visit to an MDF Board Manufacturer, the only fully automated factory in the country, where the participants were given a guided tour of the factory and manufacturing processes.

The delegation from the University of Moratuwa constituted of members of IEEE University of Moratuwa Student Branch, Dr Sisil Kumarawadu, Eng Bernad Perera, Mr. Senevirathne and Mr Rupasinhe. Dr Atputharajah and the students from University of Peradeniya joined the team.

Are you a member of this section? Please help expand the article by using the edit tab.

Section Document Archive