IEEE North Queensland Section History

IEEE North Queensland Section History
Established date 1994-01-29
IEEE Region 10
IEEE Council
Geographic region North Queensland
Region area
Principal cities
Home page
List of Subsections in this Section

Background[edit | edit source]

This geographical region was originally part of the Australia section in 1972, and later part of the Queensland Section, and now known as the Northern Australia Section embracing the Northern Territory.

Section[edit | edit source]

The IEEE North Queensland Section name was formed on 29 January 1994, with a name change to the IEEE North Australia Section made 15 June 2008.

This section now encompasses the geographical area of North Queensland (above the 23 degree south latitude), Northern Territory, Papua New Guinea. The region of Northern Territory has remained part of the geographical responsibility of the New South Wales Section (as a vestige of the Australia Section) up until mid 2007.

The centre of activity in this section is around the cities of Townsville and Cairns.

Chapters[edit | edit source]

The IEEE Power & Energy Society Chapter was established in February 2014.

Student Branches[edit | edit source]

In June 2010, James Cook University has won the 2009 IEEE Australia Council Outstanding Student Branch Competition. JCU has demonstrated their excellence in broad range of activities essential to a successful student branch, such as completing an annual plan, hosting technical meetings, and participating in IEEE sponsored competitions. Among the numerous activities of the JCU student branch, their "Community Project" attracted great attention from the competition judges. The JCU community project aims this year at supporting the early education sector with a set of technology aids to help children with learning ability difficulties.

Section Officers[edit | edit source]

Year Chair Secretary Treasurer
1994 W P Symington P Musumeci
1995 W P Symington P Musumeci
1996 Cornelis J Kikkert
1997 Cornelis J Kikkert
1998 Arthur C Tsakissiris
1999 Arthur C Tsakissiris
2000 Janina Mazierska
2001 Malcolm L Heron
2002 Malcolm L Heron
2003 Malcolm L Heron
2004 Cornelis J Kikkert
2005 Cornelis J Kikkert
2006 Cornelis J Kikkert
2007 Graham Woods
NQU PHOTO Woods.jpg
2008 Graham Woods
2009 Cornelis J Kikkert
2010 Mohan Jacob
2011 Mohan Jacob
2012 Malcolm Heron
2013 Mohan Jacob
2014 Mohan Jacob
2015 Mathew Whelan
2016 Mathew Whelan
2017 Graham Woods Melanie Olsen Iain Morrison/Mostafa Rahimiazghadi Link to Section Homepage]