IEEE Nanotechnology Council History


Are you a member of this council? Please help expand the article by using the edit tab...

February 17, 2002 – Formed IEEE Nanotechnology Council. The IEEE BoD approved formation of IEEE Nanotechnology Council (TAB approved February 16, 2002)

The IEEE Nanotechnology Council (NTC) is a multi-disciplinary group whose purpose is to advance and coordinate work in the field of Nanotechnology carried out throughout the IEEE in scientific, literary and educational areas. The Council supports the theory, design, and development of nanotechnology and its scientific, engineering, and industrial applications.

The IEEE BoD approved formation of the IEEE Nanotechnology Council and its Field of Interest on February 17, 2002. The IEEE Nanotechnology Council is part of Division I – Circuits and Devices and is made up of 22 member societies:

  1. Aerospace & Electronic System Society (AES)
  2. Antennas & Propagation Society (AP)
  3. Circuits & Systems Society CAS)
  4. Communications Society (COM)
  5. Components, Packaging, & Manufacturing Technology Society (CPMT)
  6. Computational Intelligence Society (CI) [Formerly Neural Networks (NN) Society]
  7. Computer Society (C)
  8. Control Systems Society (CS)
  9. Dielectrics and Electrical Insulation Society (DEIS)
  10. Electron Devices Society (ED)
  11. Engineering in Medicine & Biology Society (EMB)
  12. Electromagnetic Compatibility Society (EMC)
  13. Industrial Electronics Society (IE)
  14. Instrumentation & Measurement Society (IM)
  15. Photonics Society (PS)
  16. Magnetics Society (MAG)
  17. Microwave Theory & Techniques Society (MTT)
  18. Reliability Society (RL)
  19. Solid State Circuits Society (SSC)
  20. Robotics & Automation Society (RA)
  21. Systems, Man, & Cybernetics Society (SMC)
  22. Ultrasonics, Ferroelectrics, & Frequency Control Society (UFFC)


The NTC has a Constitution and Bylaws.

The NTC is governed by an executive committee (Excom) and an Adminstrative Committee (AdCom).

Officers are elected by the AdCom at the annual meeting, held at the International Nanotechnology Conference (“NANO”).

Nominations are solicited by the Chair of the Nominating Committee prior to the Annual Meeting.


IEEE members are committed to the highest standards of integrity, responsible behavior, and ethical and professional conduct. The IEEE Nanotechnology Council reaffirms its commitment to an environment free of discrimination and harassment as stated in the IEEE Code of Conduct, IEEE Code of Ethics, and IEEE Nondiscrimination Policy.


The Excom consists of the following officers (9):

  • President (2 year term, beginning in even years)
  • President-Elect (1 year term, in odd years)
  • Past-President
  • Vice President of Conferences (2 year term, beginning in odd years)
  • Vice-President of Educational Activities (2 year term, beginning in even years)
  • Vice President of Finance (2 year term, beginning in odd years)
  • Vice President of Publications (2 year term, beginning in even years)
  • Vice President of Technical Activities (2 year term, beginning in even years)
  • Secretary (appointed) [non-voting]


NTC has the following Standing committees:

  • Awards
  • Chapters and Regional Activities
  • Constitution and Bylaws
  • Education
  • Fellows
  • Finance
  • Industry Advisory
  • Liaison and Transnational
  • Meetings
  • Nominations & Appointments
  • Publications
  • Standards
  • Technical Activities
  • Distinguished Lecturers Subcommittee

See our committees page.


NTC has four major publications and an e-newsletter:

  • Transactions on Nanobioscience (T-NB)
  • Transactions on Nanotechnology (T-NANO)
  • IEEE Open Journal of Nanotechnology (new)
  • IEEE Nanotechnology Magazine (INM)
  • IEEE Nanotechnology e-Newsletter


The IEEE Nanotechnology Council (NTC) has professional and student chapters established in several countries.

Chapter Region
Pittsburgh Section Chapter* 2
Northern Virginia/Wash Jt. Sections Chapter 2
Susquehanna Section Chapter 2
Southeastern Michigan Section Chapter 4
Houston Section Chapter 5
Foothill/Orange County Sections Chapter 6
Santa Clara Valley/OEB/San Francisco Chapter 6
Montreal Section 7
South Africa Section Chapter 8
Italy Section Chapter 8
Saudi Arabia Section Chapter (pending) 8
Tunisia Section Chapter 8
Mexico Section Robotics and Automation, Biometrics Council, Nanotechnology Council, Sensors Council, and Systems Council Joint Chapter 9
Australian Capital Territories Section Chapter 10
Bangalore Section Chapter 10
Beijing Section - Guangdong Chapter* (former chapter) 10
Delhi Section Nanotechnology Council and Magnetics Society

Joint Chapter

Gujarat Section Chapter 10
Madras Section Chapter 10
Malaysia Section Sensors Council and Nanotechnology Council Joint Chapter 10
Nanjing Section Chapter 10
Singapore Section Chapter 10
Seoul Section Chapter 10
Tainan Section Chapter 10
Uttar Pradesh Section


Louisiana Technical University, Ruston, LA, USA (Summer 2009) 5
University of Texas at Tyler, USA (Fall 2011) (see photo) 5
Institut National de la Recherche Scientifique-INRS (Montreal Section) 7
Kuvempu University, Shankaraghatta, India (Fall 2012) (see announcement) 10
Indian Institute of Science-Bangalore, Bangalore, India, Nanotechnology Council and Sensors Council Joint Student Branch Chapter (2013) 10
Vellore Institute of Technology, Madras Section 10
Updated 21-Feb-19

Link to IEEE Nanotechnology Council