IEEE Magnetics Society History


August 26, 1964 - They started out 'TOC Nonlinear Magnetics'. Their name was changed on this day by the IEEE Executive Board to 'Group on Magnetics'.

1972 - 'Group on Magnetics' became 'Magnetics Society'.

Here is a link to an article by Ron Goldfarb on the history of the IEEE Magnetics Society.

On 26 August 1964, IEEE approved the formation of the IEEE Magnetics Group and it became group number 33.

IEEE TRANSACTIONS ON MAGNETICS was first published in March 1965 as a quarterly

In 1972, the IEEE Magnetics Group became the IEEE Magnetics Society, one of the first IEEE groups to be upgraded.

In 2000, twenty-one long-time contributors to the Magnetics Society, including many former officers and members who were active during the transition from group to society, were awarded IEEE Millennium Medals. Recipients include: C. Bajorek, R. Barker, A. Bobeck, S. Charap, W. Doyle, S. Foner, F. Friedlaender, K. Harada, F. Humphrey, M. Kryder, H. Lord,  F. Luborsky, C. Patton, A. Pohm, E. Pugh, S. Rubens, Y. Sakurai, S. Shtrikman, G. Slemon, J.Suozzi, and D. Thompson.

As of February 2020, there are thirty-eight IEEE Magnetics Society Chapters in existence


The Vision of the IEEE Magnetics Society is to be the leading international professional organization for magnetism and for related professionals throughout the world.

Mission: "The IEEE Magnetics Society promotes the advancement of science, technology, applications and training in magnetism. It fosters presentation and exchange of information among its members and within the global technical community, including education and training of young engineers and scientists. It seeks to nurture positive interactions between all national and regional societies acting in the field of magnetism. The Society maintains the highest standard of professionalism and technical competency.


The IEEE Magnetics Society shall be involved with the:

"Treatment of all matters in which the dominant factors are the fundamental developments, design, and certain applications of magnetic devices. This includes consideration of materials and components as used therein, standardization of definitions, nomenclature, symbols, and operating characteristics; and exchange of information as by technical papers, conference sessions, and demonstrations."

As excerpted from the IEEE Magnetic Society's Constitution, the efforts of the IEEE Magnetics Society "shall be scientific, literary, and educational in character. The IEEE Magnetics Society shall strive for the advancement of the theory and practice of electrical and electronics engineering and of the allied arts and sciences, and the maintenance of a high professional standing among its members, all in consonance with the Constitution and Bylaws of the IEEE and with special attention to such aims within the field of interest of the Society as are hereinafter defined. The Society shall aid in promoting close cooperation and exchange of technical information among its members and to this end shall hold meetings for the presentation of papers and their discussion, and through its committees shall study and provide for the needs of its members."


The objective of the Sister Society Agreement is to encourage the exchange and dissemination of technical information, and to promote understanding and cooperation between the members of the Sister Society and the IEEE Magnetics Society.

Sister Societies include: Taiwan Association for Magnetic Technology, The Magnetics Society of Japan, The Korean Magnetics Society, Chinese Institute of Electronics Magnetics Society (CIEMS), International Compumag Society (ICS), and Spanish Club of Magnetism (CEMAG).


President Affiliation Years
Herbert F. Storm (a) General Electric 1965-1967
W. Lee Shevel Jr. (a) IBM 1967-1969
Joseph J. Suozzi (a) Bell Telephone Laboratories 1969-1971
Robert C. Byloff (a) Louis Allis Company 1971-1972 (b)
Emerson W. Pugh IBM 1973-1974
Fred E. Luborsky General Electric 1975-1976
Fritz J. Friedlaender Purdue University 1977-1978
Daniel I. Gordon Naval Surface Warfare Center 1979-1980
James M. Lommel General Electric 1981-1982
Clark E. Johnson Jr. Vertimag Systems 1983-1984
Alan B. Smith Digital Equipment 1985-1986
William D. Doyle Eastman Kodak 1987-1988
Richard M. Josephs Naval Air Development Center 1989-1990
Stanley H. Charap Carnegie Mellon University 1991-1992
David A. Thompson IBM 1993-1994
James E. Opfer Hewlett-Packard 1995-1996
Daniel D. Stancil Carnegie Mellon University 1997-1998
Edward Della Torre George Washington University 1999-2000
Robert E. Fontana IBM 2001-2002
Ronald S. Indeck Washington University, St. Louis 2003-2004
Kevin O’Grady University of York 2005-2006
Carl E. Patton Colorado State University 2007-2008
Randall H. Victora University of Minnesota 2009-2010
Takao Suzuki University of Alabama 2011-2012
Liesl Folks University of Buffalo 2013-2014
Bruce Terris HGST 2015-2016
Manuel Vazquez Institute of Materials Science of Madrid, CSIC 2017-2018
Pallavi Dhagat Oregon State University 2019-2020

Are you a member of this society? Please help expand the article by using the edit tab.

Link to IEEE Magnetics Society