IEEE Bombay (Mumbai) Section History


IEEE Bombay (Mumbai) Section History
Established date 1976-07-13
IEEE Region 10
IEEE Council India
Geographic region Bombay
Region area
Principal cities
Home page
List of Subsections in this Section

IEEE India section started in early seventies though preparations started much earlier, and Mr. F. C. Kohli was its first Chairman.

In 1976, three sections were formed of which Bombay was one, other two, were Bangalore and Delhi sections and India section was renamed to India-Council. Mr T V Balan of ACC was its first Chairman. Mr. D. N. Purandare was first Vice Chairman, Prof. A. A. Kulkarni, Secretary, Mr. Hiloowala Treasurer, Mr. H.S. Sonawala, Mr. K. J. Sheth, Mr. P. R. Bapat, Mr. Mukesh Gidwani, Dr. K. Shankar, Prof. D. M. Shah, Prof. M. V. Pitke and a few others were members of Executive Committee. They met mostly at Mr. T. V. Balan's office. Mr. Balan was succeeded by Mr D. N. Purandare (1979-81 - three-years). Mr. H. S. Sonawala, Mr. P.R. Bapat, Mr. K. J. Sheth, Mr. C. G. Ravi, Mr. K. S. Sonawala, Prof. S. C. Sahasrabudhe looked after Bombay Section successively. Presently, Mr Q. Bakir is the Chairman.

In 1976/77 Bombay Section conducted largest number of technical programs among all sections of IEEE. Further, every year, they were holding some technical conference running for two days or more. That is continuing even to this day. Further IEEE always co-sponsored several technical programmes with other professional bodies, whenever, they were held in and around Bombay.

Students activities were foremost with section Executive Committee member. IEEE students branch started first at IIT Bombay and has expanded to several colleges. To augment, their regular laboratory work, they have started Hobby Club at Father Agnel's College recently, where any student of any college can work to build/test any electronic circuits, simulate them on PC etc. A reasonable laboratory has been provided that they are keen on expansion of these activities. Every year, they conduct students paper contests and whenever possible student model contests as well. A few of them are sent even for Regional student paper contest. Some of our students have even won several prizes at the Regional level as well (one of them has won first prize among all sections for region 10). Few of our counsellors have also won best councellor award. Some students branches have also won the prestigious Vincent Benedict award. Among important activities of the section, Bombay section conducted first ever workshop on Microprocessor and its application wayback in 1977 when anyone in our country had hardly heard of the word Microprocessor. Prof. Insyng Lee of Digital, USA conducted the workshop and its impact is felt all over even now. Subsequently in a systematic way Dr. William Eclears conducted Eight bit Microprocessor and other Microprocessor workshops as well. Several workshops were conducted during all these years on many current topics with an average of more than one per year since 1976.

Until recently, every alternate year, Bombay section would host Annual Convention and Exhibition of IEEE, India Council, bringing our best products in the country and also best quality papers presented at the convention. It was received remarkably by the public.

Bombay Section also started Regional Section Chairman Conference in 1977. Further Systems Man and Cybermatics conference of IEEE was held primarily at Bombay 1984. This was the first conference of IEEE held in India. Later in 1989 we hosted Tencon 89 regional conference of Region 10. This included very large exhibition. This attracted largest number of delegates. Such activities are increasing year by year.

Last year a major International Conference on Personal Wireless Communication was held in Bombay from December 17-19, 1997. About 150 experts from all over the world attended this conference and presented their papers. IEEE Bombay Section has their Bye-laws approved by the general body in 1993 within the framework of IEEE constitution. 

Bombay Section Officers
Year Chair Vice chair Secretary Treasurer
2001 Juzer Vasi Satyanarayana Bheesette Uday Desai Raju Hira
2002 Juzer Vasi Satyanarayana Bheesette Uday Desai Raju Hira
2003 Balkrishna Prabhu Mahendr Shah Mukul Chandorkar Anthony Lobo
2004 Balkrishna Prabhu Mahendr Shah Poorva Waingankar Anthony Lobo
2005 Mahendr Shah Uday Desai Poorva Waingankar Anthony Lobo
2006 Mahendr Shah Uday Desai Anthony Lobo
2007 Uday Desai Anthony Lobo Ashok Jagatia
2008 Uday Desai Anthony Lobo Ashok Jagatia
2009 Raju Hira Anthony Lobo Ashok Jagatia Shabbir Merchant
2010 Raju Hira Anthony Lobo Ashok Jagatia Shabbir Merchant
2011 M Pitke Anthony Lobo Ashok Jagatia Shabbir Merchant
2012 Ashok Jagatia Anthony Lobo Abhay Phansikar S Khaparde
2013 Ashok Jagatia Atindra Banerjee / Anthony Lobo Abhay Phansikar Dnyaneshwar Kamble
2014 Atindra Banerjee Shabbir Merchant / Anthony Lobo Aiyappan Pillai Suryanarayana Doolla
2015 Atindra Banerjee Shabbir Merchant Aiyappan Pillai Suryanarayana Doolla
2016 Anthony Lobo Abhay Phansikar / Aiyappan Pillai Vinit Kotak / Suryanarayana Doolla Anand Gharpure / Sanjay Pawar
2017 Anthony Lobo Abhay Phansikar / Aiyappan Pillai Vinit Kotak / Suryanarayana Doolla Anand Gharpure / Sanjay Pawar
2018 Abhay Phansikar Suryanarayana Doolla Satyanarayana Bheesette / Anand Gharpure Sanjay Pawar / Ashwini Kotrashetti
2019 Abhay Phansikar Suryanarayana Doolla Satyanarayana Bheesette / Anand Gharpure Sanjay Pawar
2020 Suryanarayana Doolla Satyanarayana Bheesette Satyanarayana Bheesette / Anand Gharpure Sanjay Pawar / Kiran Talele
2021 Satyanarayana Bheesette Satyanarayana Bheesette Saurabh Mehta Kiran Talele


Prof K Shankar

Archival documents

Further Reading

Link to Section Homepage