IEEE Atlanta Section History


IEEE Atlanta Section History
Established date 1904-01-14
IEEE Region 3
IEEE Council
Geographic region Atlanta
Region area
Principal cities
Home page
List of Subsections in this Section

Are you a member of this section? Please help expand the article by using the edit tab....

Link to Section Homepage

IEEE Atlanta Section Centennial History – Key Events

January 19, 1904 - The Atlanta Section of the AIEE holds its first meeting. The section consists of 19 members, 5 of which are students.

June 23, 1914 - The Georgia Tech AIEE student chapter holds its first official meeting.

1923 - Charles Adist, a widely recognized hydroelectric expert and official of the Georgia Railway and Power Company, is named an AIEE Fellow. (He is believed to be the first AIEE Fellow named from the Southeast U.S.)

1924 - The Atlanta Association of Radio Engineers, predecessor to the IRE, is organized.

July 16, 1927 - The Atlanta Section of the IRE is established and holds its first meeting. The section is the first in the Southeast U.S.

1946 - The Georgia Tech student chapter of the IRE is established.

January 1, 1963 - The AIEE and the IRE merge to become the IEEE. At the time, there are 918 registered members in the Atlanta Section.

May 2012 - The Graduates of the Last Decade affinity group is established.

North Georgia Electrical/Electronics Technology – Key Events

1906 A 66 kV transmission line connecting Gainesville to Atlanta is completed. It is only the 2nd such line to be completed in the U.S.

1913 The connection of the Georgia system to the Southern Power Company distribution lines in South Carolina attracts national attention and sets an important precedent for the large scale exchange of electrical energy between independent systems and across state lines.

1942 Just months after the attack on Pearl Harbor, the U.S. government announces plans to build a major new bomber plant – Air Force Plant #6 – in Marietta, GA. The plant is operated first by the Bell Aircraft Co. and later by Lockheed.

June 30, 1968 The largest aircraft in the world, the Lockheed C-5A, manufactured in Georgia, makes its first flight. Its complex avionics suite includes 38 antennas.

1969 The Western Electric Corporation announces plans to build “the world’s largest cable-producing plant” in Norcross, GA. The plant is completed and opens in 1972.

November 14, 1975 The first successful laboratory demonstration of a telephone system using fiber optics is conducted at Bell Laboratories, Atlanta.

December 6, 1976 The nation’s first “superstation,” Ted Turner’s WTBS in Atlanta, begins relaying its TV programs via satellite to North America.

1977 Dennis Hayes and Dale Heatherington begin shipping modems out of Hayes’ home near Ogelthorpe University. Their new firm quickly becomes one of the most popular and successful producers of modems.

September 15, 1980 The first permanent commercial telephone system (totaling 6.5 miles in length) to use fiber optic cable is installed by Southern Bell in the metro Atlanta area.

1994 Charles Brewer founds Mindspring Enterprises, an Internet Service Provider (ISP), in Atlanta. He starts his business with only 8 modems and 32 non-paying customers.

Sources - IEEE Headquarters - IEEE Region 3 Centennial Compendium, compiled by Robert Duggan (1984)

AIEE Atlanta Section Officers

Year Chair Secretary
1904-1907 A.M. Schoen W.R. Collier
1908 J.H. Finney G.J. Yundt
1909 W.R. Collier E.P. Peck
1910 H.P. Wood M.E. Bonyun
1911 H.P. Wood H.M. Keys
1912-1915 A.M. Schoen H.M. Keys
1916 A.M. Schoen H.E. Bussey
1917-1919 A.M. Schoen Thomas C. Taliaferro
1920 H.R. Willis J.M. Bradfield
1921-1922 J.E. Mellett H.N. Pye
1923 G.K. Seldon H.N. Pye
1924 W.R. Collier H.N. Pye
1925 W.E. Gathright W.F. Oliver
1926-1927 C.E. Bennett W.F. Oliver
1928 T.H. Landgraf D.H. Woodward
1929 H.L. Willis W.F. Bellinger
1930 H.C. Uhl O.O. Rae
1931 A.G. Stanford J.H. Persons
1932 O.O. Rae J.H. Persons
1933 D.H. Woodward J.H. Persons
1934 L.M. Shadgett W.F. Oliver
1935-1936 J.H. Persons M.A. Candler
1937 H.N. Pye J.M. Flanigen
1938 H.G. Harvey J.M. Flanigan
1939 J. O'D. Shepherd J.M. Flanigan
1940 E.H. Bailey J.M. Flanigan
1941 E.W. O'Brien R.L. Williamson
1942 J.M. Flanigan Carl Evans
1943 J.E. Mellett Carl Evans
1944 T.J. Woth R.O. Loomis
1945 Carl W. Evans Robert O. Loomis
1946 Gordon F. Price Robert O. Loomis
1947 Marion S. Johnson James R. Raney
1948 R.O. Loomis James R. Raney
1949 E.S. Lammers H.P. Peters
1950 J.R. Raney H.P. Peters
1951 H.P. Peters W.H. Hickey, Jr.
1952 C.L. Drummond E.V. McMahon
1953 W.H. Hickey, Jr. J.C. Ager
1954 E.V. McMahon T.J. Allen
1955 J.C. Ager J.F. Willett
1956 T.J. Allem W.J. McKune
1957 J.F. Willett J.L. Bodeker
1958 Wm. J. McKune Dan C. Kyker
1959 J.L. Bodeker L. Curtis
1960-1961 D.C. Kyker C.W. Woodruff
1962 C.W. Woodruff J. Dechovitz

IEEE Atlanta Section Officers

Atlanta Section Officers
Year Chair Vice chair Secretary Treasurer
2001 Susan Dugas David Millard Elizabeth Chase Battaglio William Marshall
2002 Andrew Peterson David Millard Elizabeth Chase Battaglio William Marshall
2003 Andrew Peterson William Marshall David Millard Wei Zhao
2004 William Marshall Wei Zhao Miroslav Begovic Randy Young
2005 William Marshall Wei Zhao James Remich Randy Young
2006 Wei Zhao James Remich Jeff Kemp Randy Young
2007 James Remich Jeff Kemp Jairo Garcia Randy Young
2008 Jeff Kemp Joy Mazumdar Jairo Garcia Jill Gostin
2009 Joy Mazumdar Scott Tippens Jason Kramer Jill Gostin
2010 William Marshall Jill Gostin Abby Robinson Kristin Bing
2011 William Marshall Jill Gostin Abby Robinson Kristin Bing
2012 Jill Gostin Elizabeth Chase Battaglio Kristin Bing Jennifer Palmer
2013 Jill Gostin Elizabeth Chase Battaglio Theresa Brunasso Jennifer Palmer
2014 Elizabeth Chase Battaglio Jennifer Palmer Theresa Brunasso Timothy Palmer
2015 Elizabeth Chase Battaglio Theresa Brunasso Daniel Diaz-Lugo Timothy Palmer
2016 Theresa Brunasso Kristin Bing Benjamin Yang Daniel Diaz-Lugo
2017 Theresa Brunasso Kristin Bing Wyman Williams John Balsam
2018 Kristin Bing Daniel Diaz-Lugo Wyman Williams John Balsam
2019 Kristin Bing Wyman Williams Brian Conant Jordan Gray
2020 Wyman Williams Alessio Medda Brian Conant Jordan Gray
2021 Wyman Williams Alessio Medda Nelson Lourenco Brian Conant

Archival documents