Sanjay Kumar Banerjee


Sanjay Kumar Banerjee
Associated organizations
University of Texas
Fields of study
IEEE Andrew S. Grove Award


Sanjay Kumar Banerjee’s innovative contributions to metal-oxide field-effect transistors (MOSFETs) have driven advances in static random access memory (SRAM), dynamic random access memory (DRAM), and flash memory prevalent in today’s computers and mobile devices. Dr. Banerjee’s work has been integral to the continued scaling of MOSFETs and enabling low-power electronics. Dr. Banerjee was a leader in the development of the vertical trench transistor/capacitor used by Texas Instruments in the world’s first 4-Mb DRAM. His patented work on polysilicon-on-insulator MOSFETs advanced SRAM technology. He also demonstrated the first three-terminal MOS tunnel FET as well as the first high-k dielectric/silicon-germanium quantum dot gates for flash memories.

An IEEE Fellow, Dr. Banerjee is the Cockrell Regents Chair Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering and director of the Microelectronics Center at the University of Texas, Austin, TX, USA. Banerjee was the recipient of the 2014 IEEE Andrew S. Grove Award.