R. Stuart Mackay


R. Stuart Mackay
San Francisco, CA, USA
Associated organizations
University of California
Fields of study
Biomedical engineering


R. Stuart Mackay (IRE Senior Member, 1956) was born in San Francisco, California, on 3 January 1924. He received the B.A. and Ph.D. degrees in physics from the University of California at Berkeley, in 1944 and 1952, respectively.

Mackay was a Teaching Assistant in both physics and electrical engineering at the University of California from 1944 to 1949. He was responsible for the University's first electron microscope, 1946-1951. From 1949 to 1957, he was Lecturer and then Assistant Professor of Electrical Engineering. During this period, he organized some of the first courses in electronic pulse techniques and in electron microscopy. At the University of California Medical Center, San Francisco, he organized and was Director of the Research and Development Laboratory, from 1954 to 1958. He was also Lecturer in Biophysics and Associate Research Biophysics form 1954 to 1957. In the summer of 1956, he was a Deputy Project Officer at the Atomic Energy Commission (AEC) tests in the Marshall Islands.

During 1957-1958, Mackay was a Guggenheim Fellow at the Karolinska Institute, Stockholm, Sweden, where he later was a Visiting Associate Professor of Medical Physics in the summer of 1959. From 1958 to 1960, He was Associate Clinical Professor of Experimental Radiology and Associate Research Physicist in the radiology Department of the University of California Medical Center. From 1960 to 1961, Mackay was a Visiting Professor of Biophysics at the University of Cairo, Egypt, and also Fulbright Lecturer. In 1962, he held the post Associate Clinical Professor of Optometry and Associate Research Biophysicist at the University of California at Berkeley.

Mackay was a member of the Mine Advisory Committee of the National Research Council of the National Academy of Sciences, Phi Beta Kappa, Sigma Xi, and Pi Mu Epsilon. He was a Senior Member of the IRE and at one time was Vice Chairman of the IRE Professional Group on Bio-Medical Electronics.