Toshio Fukuda


Toshio Fukuda
Toshio Fukuda
Associated organizations
Nagoya University
Fields of study


Toshio Fukuda, IEEE President, 2020, professor emeritus in the Department of Micro-Nano Systems Engineering at Nagoya University, Japan.


Dr. Fukuda is known as a pioneer in the field of Intelligence Systems for his research on Modular Robotic Systems called Cellular Robotic System “CEBOT.” Dr. Fukuda developed brachiation controllers, which are important for providing more natural movement in robots. Based on an ape’s brachiation (the pendulum-like movement involved when swinging from tree limb to tree limb), Dr. Fukuda and colleagues addressed “swing locomotion” and “swing up” behaviors resulting in a robot capable of continuous movement over several rungs of a ladder. He pioneered microrobotics technology including the microsensors and microactuators that make the miniature systems possible, and his medical intravascular microsurgery simulator has found commercial use. Dr. Fukuda has worked on three-dimensional manipulation of carbon nanotubes for nanosensors and nanoactuators, with implications for biotechnology applications. He has studied nanorobotic manipulation systems used for sample preparations and cell manipulation/evaluation with carbon nanotubes.

An IEEE Fellow, Dr. Fukuda is a professor emeritus in the Department of Micro-Nano Systems Engineering at Nagoya University, Japan.


1977, Research Scientist at National Mechanical Engineering Laboratory, AIST

1979-1980, Visiting Research Fellow at the University of Stuttgart

1981, Associate Professor at Science University of Tokyo

1989, Professor at Nagoya University

2013, Professor at Meijo University

2013, Professor at Beijing Institute of Technology

2013, Professor emeritus at Nagoya University

2017, Foreign Member, Chinese Academy of Sciences

Research interests: Intelligent robotic system, self-organizing system, micro-nano robotics, bio-robotic system, neuromorphic intelligent control, fuzzy control, control of mechanical systems, and technical diagnosis

IEEE Committees and Boards:

• Director, Division X (2001-2002)

• Director, Region 10 (2013-2014)

• Director, Division X (2017-2018)

• RAB/TAB Transnational Committee, 1998

• TAB Periodicals Committee, 1998

• Meetings & Services Committee, 1999

• Nominations and Appointments Committee, 1999

• IEEE Fellows Committee, 1997-1999

• Committee on Nano-Technology, Chair, 1999-2000

• Proceedings Editorial Board, 2000

• Journal of Micro Electro Mechanical Systems, Steering Committee, 1993-2000

• Transactions on Robotics and Automation Editorial Board, 1989-1991

• IEEE Nomination and Appointments Committee, 2003-2004

• IEEE-SA Standards Board, 2002-2003

• TAB Management Committee, 2006-2009

• TAB Nomination and Appointments Committee, 2006

• Admission and Advancement Committee, 2006-2007

• Environment & Safety Medal Award Committee, Chair, 2007-2010


Region 10 activities include:

• Region 10: Director 2013-2014, Director-Elect, 2011-2012

• Region 10: Technical Activities Coordinator, 2009-2010

• Region 10: Nomination Committee Chair, 2015-2016

• Region 10: Advisor, 2015-2017

• Japan Council, Member at large

• Japan Council, Member, Industry Promotion committee

IEEE Societies and Councils:

• Robotics and Automation Society (RAS): President, 1998-1999; AdCom, 2004-2015, 1990-1995

• Industrial Electronics Society (IES): Vice-President, 1990-1999; AdCom, 1988-2000

• Systems, Man and Cybernetics (SMCS): AdCom, 1994-1996

• Computational Intelligent Society (CIS), AdCom, 2006-2008

• Neural Networks Council: Secretary, 1992-93; AdCom, 1999-2000, 1994-1996, 1990-1991

• Intelligent Transportation Council, AdCom, 2000-2001

• Nanotechnology Council, President, 2004-2005, 2002-2003

IEEE Conferences:

• Intelligent Robots and Systems (IROS): Founding Chair, 1988; Advisory Committee Chair, 1989-2000

• International Conference on Robotics and Automation (ICRA): General Chair, 2004, 1995

• International Conference on Evolutionary Computation General Chair, 1996

• International Joint Conference on Neural Networks Program Chair, 1991; Steering Committee Chair, 1993

• Workshop on Robot and Human Communication: General Chair, 1994

• IEEE Conference on Fuzzy Systems Program Co-Chair, 1995

• IEEE Conference on Intelligent Transportation Systems (ITS): General Chair, 2000

• IEEE Conference on Industrial Electronics: General Chair, 2000

• IEEE Conference on Advanced Robotics and Social Impacts (ARSO): General Chair, 2005

• IEEE/SICE System Integration International (SII): General Chair, 2008

• International Symposium on Micro-Nano Mechatronics (MHS): General Chair, 1990-2012

• IEEE Conference on Cyborg and Bionic Systems (CBS): General Chair, 2017

• IEEE Conference on Intelligence and Safety for Robotics (ISR): General Chair, 2018

IEEE Awards:

• IEEE ICRA Best Service Robot Manipulation Paper Award, 2017

• Medal of Honor with Purple Ribbon, Government of Japan, 2015

• Friendship Award of State Administration of Foreign Experts affairs of the P.R.C., 2014

• IEEE/RSJ IROS Harashima Award for Innovative Technologies, 2011

• IEEE ICRA Best Manipulation Paper Award, 2011

• IEEE Technical Field Award on Robotics and Automation, 2010

• IEEE RAS George Saridis Leadership Award in Robotics and Automation, 2009

• IEEE Transactions on Automation Science and Engineering Googol Best Paper Award, 2007

• IEEE Robotics & Automation Society Pioneer Award, 2004

• IEEE Third Millennium Medal, 2000

• Dr.-Ing. Eugene Mittelmann Achievement Award, 1997

Further Reading