IEEE Ecuador Section History

IEEE Ecuador Section History
Established date 1974-08-04
IEEE Region 9
IEEE Council Andean
Geographic region Ecuador
Region area
Principal cities
Home page
List of Subsections in this Section


The Ecuador Section was created in 1974 by a group of professionals led by Eng. Leonel Plaza, who was at that time President of the College of Electrical Engineering and Electromcos of Pichtncha in Quito.

Since its creation, the Ecuador Section has been working professionally in various activities within the city of Quito.

 Student Branches

The first student section was started in 1978 at the Escuela Politecnica Nacional.

Since the establishment of branches in Ecuador Student Section, namely University of Cuenca and the Polytechnic College Literal, since 2001 begins to activate the activities in Section Ecuador, until now there are 13 student branches.

Now that same group of young volunteers who forged the creation of the student branches, are professionals and now command Section Ecuador.

We currently have the following Student Branches:

 Section Student Branches - Ramas Estudiantiles de Sección
Name of the Student Branch(Nombre de la Rama Estudiantil) Website (Página web)  Volunteer Contact(Voluntario de contacto)
Escuela Politécnica Nacional Fabián
Escuela Politécnica del Ejército Tatiana
Escuela Superior Politécnica de Chimborazo Rómulo Byron Ilvay
Escuela Superior Politécnica del Litoral Henry
Pontificia Universidad Católica del Ecuador
Universidad de Cuenca Susana
Universidad Católica de Cuenca Ma. Esperanza
Universidad Católica de Santiago de Guayaquil Daniela Díaz
Universidad Nacional de Loja Ing. Andy Vega Leó
Universidad Politécnica Salesiana - Cuenca Rodrigo Escandón
Universidad Politécnica Salesiana - Guayaquil Jaime
Universidad Politécnica Salesiana - Quito Jairo Mauricio Alarcón
Universidad Técnica de Ambato
Universidad Técnica del Norte Santiago
Universidad Técnica Particular de Loja Andrea

Universidad del Azuay Johanna;

Source: Eng. Joe Llerena, MSig. -  SAC Section Ecuador 2011. 


Also, our wie Affinity Groups: 

Wie Affinity Groups (Grupos de Afinidad WIE)
Name of de Volunteer Contact Wie(Nombre del Voluntario de Contacto Wie)
Ecuador Section Affinity Group, GOLD
Ecuador Section Affinity Group, WIE  Elena Cristina Durán-
Universidad Católica de Santiago de Guayaquil WIE  Ana Belén Ojeda Almagro-
Universidad Politécnica Salesiana - Guayaquil WIE  Nathaly Fernanada Vásquez Paredes-
Universidad Politécnica Salesiana - Cuenca  Lisset Bermeo -
Universidad Técnica del Norte  Gabriela Patiño-
Universidad Nacional de Loja
Universidad Técnica Particular de Loja  Ronny Israel Cabrera Tituana-
Escuela Politécnica Nacional  Carla Tatiana Navarrete Naverrete -
Escuela Politécnica del Litoral- ESPOL  Annabel del Rocio Macas Macas-
Escuela Politécnica del Ejército  Ana Gabriela del Hierro -
Universidad Católica Cuenca - Azogues  Ma. Esperanza Barros-
Universidad Politécnica Salesiana- Quito  Carolina Alexandra Vásquez Barba-
Universidad de Cuenca  Viviana Vázquez -
Escuela Superior Politécnica de Chimborazo  Magaly Elizabeth Olivo Silva-

Source: Eng. Elena Cristina Durán  -     President WIE Section Ecuador 2011.

Archival Documents

Further Reading

Link to Section Homepage