Dennis D. Buss

Dennis D. Buss
Associated organizations
Texas Instruments
Fields of study
IEEE Jack A. Morton Award, IEEE Herschel Award, IEEE Third Millennium Medal


Dr. Dennis D. Buss was a co-recipient of the 1987 IEEE Jack A. Morton Award. The IEEE awarded Buss, along with his colleagues at Texas Instruments Richard A. Chapman and Michael A. Kinch, "For the demonstration and development of mercury cadmium telluride monolithically-integrated charge-coupled device focal plane arrays.

Buss attended the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT) where he received his bachelor's (1963), master's (1965) and doctoral degrees (1968) in Electrical Engineering. He began his career at MIT in 1968 as a member of the Electrical Engineering faculty. He temporarily left this position in academia one year later (he would return briefly between 1974 and 1975), when he joined Texas Instruments in July of 1969. While at Texas Instruments, Buss was a Fellow and later, the Vice President and Director of the company's Semiconductor Process and Design Center.

In 1987, Buss joined Analog Devices, where he served as the Vice President of Technology. He remained in this position until 1997, when he returned to Texas Instruments. Buss became the Vice President of Silicon Technology Development at Texas Instruments, and also serves as chairman of the Tech Ladder Policy Board and chairman of the Fellow Selection Committee.

Buss has received other awards and honors in addition to the Morton Award, such as the 1985 IEEE Herschel Award and the 2000 IEEE Third Millennium Medal. He is also an IEEE Fellow.