David Mills

David Mills
Fields of study
IEEE Internet Award


David Mills was the chairman of the Gateway Algorithms and Data Structures Task Force (GADS) and the first chairman of the Internet Architecture Task Force. He invented the Network Time Protocol in 1981; the Exterior Gateway Protocol in 1984; and in 1985, the DEC LSI-11 based fuzzball router that was used for the 56 kbit/s NSFNET.

In 1999 he was inducted as a Fellow of the Association for Computing Machinery, and in 2008, Mills was elected to the National Academy of Engineering (NAE). In 2013 he received the IEEE Internet Award "For significant leadership and sustained contributions in the research, development, standardization, and deployment of quality time synchronization capabilities for the Internet."

An IEEE Fellow, Dr. Mills continues to teach at the University of Delaware.