IEEE Southern Minnesota Section History

Revision as of 04:07, 23 January 2014 by Britson (talk | contribs) (Past Officers)

The IEEE Southern Minnesota Section was formed 50 years ago on August 22, 1963.

The Southern Minnesota Section is part of Region 4 which encompasses the upper midwest in the United States. Regions are organized into sections with 24 sections in our region 4. We have 332 members of the 21,146 region 4 members ranking us as a small to medium sized section. Including guests, student, affiliate, and associate members we current mail 548 meeting notices each meeting. Our section is geographically large and extends roughly from just beyond Mankato, MN at the West to Tomah, WI at the east and from Northfield, MN at the north to the Iowa border at the south. Our neighboring sections are Siouxland to our west, Madison (WI) to the east, Central Illinois to the south (on the east end), Central Iowa to the south (on the west end), Cedar Rapids (IA) to the south (central), and Twin Cities (MN) to the north.

Coulee Subsection

The IEEE Coulee Subsection was formed on May 30, 1987 to better serve the areas in our section east of the Mississippi River and directly on the river's west side. The subsection is its own entity but within the Southern Minnesota Section. Coulee holds its own meetings and has 44 members (also included in the Southern Minnesota count).


IEEE has 38 societies which specialize by technology. Sections may have chapters in one or more of these societies depending on member interest. The Southern Minnesota Section has three chapters:

  • Computer Society Chapter - formed in 1987
  • Joint Chapter in Communications, Signal Processing, and Control Systems (one chapter in three societies) - formed in 1999
  • Engineering in Medicine and Biology Chapter - formed in 2007

In addition the section has an "affinity group" in the Consultants Network and an Employment network.


Most of our technical meetings are in one of the chapter disciplines. Typical of small to mid sized sections we deliver our technical content at the section level with invitations to all members regardless of Society affiliation (and recent guests).

Our member distribution is Rochester centric; almost all of our meetings are held in Rochester. In recent years we have been doing remote broadcasts in an attempt to better reach our more remote members.

IEEE Southern Minnesota holds a minimum of 8 technical meetings per year and average about 10. Our attendance averages 40-50.

Past Officers

1970 - 1979

First Name Last Name Position Year
Paul Babel Chair 1970
Al Benson Membership Development 1970
Stan Whiting Publicity 1970
Ronald Keller Secretary 1970
Martin Storma Treasurer 1970
Norman Sorenson Treasurer 1970
Del Hollenbach Vice Chair 1970
Martin Storma Chair 1971
Stan Whiting Publicity 1971
Al Benson Secretary 1971
Norman Sorenson Treasurer 1971
Ronald Keller Vice Chair 1971
Ronald Keller Chair 1972
Russ Wright Membership Development 1972
Rex Patton Publicity 1972
Thomas Paska Secretary 1972
James Dalley Treasurer 1972
William Sutterer Vice Chair 1972
William Sutterer Chair 1973
Russ Wright Membership Development 1973
Rex Patton Publicity 1973
James Dalley Secretary 1973
James Wilson Treasurer 1973
James Dalley Chair 1974
Ronald Keller Publicity 1974
Rex Patton Secretary 1974
George Lerom Treasurer 1974
James Wilson Vice Chair 1974
Robert Rowen Chair 1975
Mark Diez Membership Development 1975
Ronald Keller Publicity 1975
Ronald Shaw Secretary 1975
Joanne Rowen Student Activities 1975
Rex Patton Treasurer 1975
George Lerom Vice Chair 1975
James Wilson Chair 1976
Mark Diez Membership Development 1976
Leslie Miner Secretary 1976
Joanne Rowen Treasurer 1976
Robert Wang Vice Chair 1976
Robert Wang Chair 1977
Mark Diez Membership Development 1977
Leslie Miner Secretary 1977
Bruce Pratt Treasurer 1977
Vic Tatak Vice Chair 1977
Robert Dubke Chair 1978
Mark Diez Membership Development 1978
Ronald Shaw Professional Activities 1978
Mark Diez Publicity 1978
Charlie Brown Secretary 1978
Karl Shidler Student Activities 1978
Bruce Pratt Treasurer 1978
Gan Moy Treasurer 1978
Alfred Anderson Vice Chair 1978
Charlie Brown Chair 1979
Mark Diez Membership Development 1979
Karl Shidler Professional Activities 1979
Mark Diez Publicity 1979
Larry Koshire Secretary 1979
Karl Shidler Student Activities 1979
Mark Diez Student Activities 1979
Gan Moy Treasurer 1979
Leslie Miner Vice Chair 1979

1964 - 1969

First Name Last Name Position Year
Robert Floyd Chair 1964
Donald Shaw Chair 1966
Jacob Sanders Membership Development 1966
Richard Westerlund Publicity 1966
Kenneth Hastings Secretary 1966
William Dunnette Treasurer 1966
James Isaacson Vice Chair 1966
Kenneth Hastings Chair 1967
Jacob Sanders Membership Development 1967
Ronald Keller Publicity 1967
Monroe Brown Secretary 1967
Wayne Cassanova Treasurer 1967
William Dunnette Vice Chair 1967
William Dunnette Chair 1968
Jacob Sanders Membership Development 1968
Ronald Keller Publicity 1968
Wayne Cassanova Secretary 1968
Myron Schettl Student Activities 1968
Kenneth Ganyo Treasurer 1968
Lowell Brown Treasurer 1968
George Sedivy Vice Chair 1968
Monroe Brown Vice Chair 1968
Jacob Sanders Chair 1969
Paul Babel Membership Development 1969
Ronald Keller Publicity 1969
George Sedivy Secretary 1969
Kenneth Ganyo Treasurer 1969
Wayne Cassanova Vice Chair 1969

External Links

Link to Section Homepage

IEEE Geographic Unit Organizing Document - Southern Minnesota