IEEE Panama Section History

Revision as of 07:17, 10 October 2009 by Haydigalvez (talk | contribs)

Link to Section Homepage


On July 19, 1972, Eng. Ernesto Obregon, Director of the IEEE Region 9, announced through local newspapers an invitation to engineers and electricians electronic Panama, in order to bring together those who were interested in forming the IEEE Section of Panama. On the same date, during the meeting to be held at the Hotel Panama, was appointed the organizing committee as follows:

President - Carlos E. Rodriguez B.

Vice President - Hernan Acevedo

Secretary - Antonio Raven

Treasurer - D. Oswald Cleghorn

Vocal - Roberto Barraza

Vocal - Daniel George

On July 24, 1972 Organizing Committee raised the formal request to require the approval to establish the Panama Section of IEEE. This request was signed by thirteen active members residing in the Republic of Panama, nine active members residing in the territory of the former Canal Zone, a member in arrears and three non-members of the IEEE.

Founding Members

The creation of the Panamá Section of the IEEE was adopted on September 12, 1972 and duly constituted by the following members considered "founding members":

  • Carlos Ramon, Algandona Argote, Roberto Barraza, Jose Barrios
  • Guillermo Flumach, Robert Inchausti, Edilberto George, T. Yee German
  • Daniel H. George,  A. Ernesto Richa, Manuel Lopez,  Esplá Val De la Guardia
  • Mario O. Roger,  Ng Endara, Antonio Raven, Hernan Acevedo
  • D. Oswald Charles,  E. Cleghorn Rodriguez B.
  • Ricardo Vasquez, Vasquez Numan, Horacio Alfaro, Hugo Tapia
  • Cristobal Silva, Miguel Aued

In January 1973 one started to prepare the statutes of the section and ran candidates for the first Board of Directors. On 20 February the same year was chosen the first Board of Directors, remaining as follows:

  • President, Jorge T. German.
  • Vice President, Ernesto Richa
  • Secretary, Daniel H. George
  • Treasurer, Manuel Lopez Esplá
  • Vocal, Val F. De la Guardia

The Section Panama was then formed by two Senior Members, 24 Members, 8 Associates, and a student.

Presidents of Panama IEEE Section

1973 - George T. German

1974 - Ernesto Richa

1975 - Charles H. Numan Algandona

1976 - Vasquez

1977 - Carlos E. Horacio Alfaro Rodriguez Jr.


1979 - Antonio Raven

1980 - Victor C. Urrutia

1981 - Ramon O. Argote

1982 - Marco A. Chen

1983 - Cristobal Silva Calderon Orlando


1985 - Manuel F. Fernando Diaz Reyes


1987 - Oscar Rendoll

1988 - Hernan Acevedo

1989 - Carlos E. Luke R. Rangel

1990 - Halphen

1991 - James R. Jaen W.

1992 - Henry A. Tejera M.

1993 - George H. Lee

1994 - Gustavo A. Bayard

1995 - 1996 - Gustavo A. Rodrigo A. Bernal

1997 - Chanis

1998 - S. Evaristo Alvarez

1999 - 2000 - George J. Him C.

2001 - 2002 - Roman Altamiranda

2003 - 2004 - Tania Quiel

2005 - 2006 - Leonardo Perez

2007-2008 -Gustavo Diaz

The Student Branch of the Technological University of Panama, was the first branch organized and approved, in 1982. The request was backed by 45 students of Engineering. His adviser was Eng. Jorge E. Salvatierra. Its first president in 1982-1983 was July Ivan Rovio.

At present Section Panama has 317 members in chapters power supplies, industrial applications, Computer and Communications Branch of the Technological University of Panama, branch of the University Santa Maria la Antigua and Rama at the University of Panama.

Are you a member of this section? Please help expand the article by using the edit tab.