IEEE Islamabad Section History

Revision as of 03:11, 20 February 2012 by K3hz (talk | contribs) (officers)

Link to Section Homepage

Islamabad Section

Saleem Tariq, Section Chair 2007.

The Islamabad Section is located in Region 10, and was formed on 12 February 2000. The Islamabad Section is one of the three Sections of Pakistan. The Sections are in Lahore, Karachi, and Islamabad. Peshawar sub-section is also there in the map of IEEE in Pakistan. The Islamabad Section is not represented at any Council.


The Islamabad Section won the Region 10 "Small Section" recognition award for 2010.

Section Officers

Section Officers - Islamabad Section
Year Chair Vice-chair Secretary Treasurer
2011 Mansoor Ahmad Saleem Tariq Umar Farooq Umar Farooq
2012 Muhammad M Ahmed Saleem Tariq Amir Qayyum Amir Qayyum

The historic Islamabad Sub-Section

The IEEE Islamabad Sub-Section was founded on August 5th, 1998, at the conference hall of the Pakistan Engineering Council, Islamabad - the scenic capital of Pakistan. In this inaugural meeting, Dr. Muhammad Akbar was elected its first chairman. Professor Muhammad Zafrullah and Engr. Shahab Hussain were elected as secretary and assistant secretary respectively.

This was necessitated by the growing number of members in Region 10. It will serve as the center of all professional activities of IEEE in the capital and adjoining areas.

Are you a member of this section? Please help expand the article by using the edit tab.

IEEE Geographic Unit Organizing Document - Islamabad