List of Presidents of the American Institute of Electrical Engineers (AIEE)

Revision as of 18:14, 30 August 2011 by Maudain (talk | contribs)

AIEE Presidents, 1884-1961

Norvin Green, 1884-86

Norvin Green became the President of Western Union in 1878. He later was one of the founders of the AIEE in the early 1880s.

Franklin L. Pope, 1886-87

Franklin L. Pope was one of America’s first practicing electrical engineers. In addition to his inventions and patents, which greatly contributed to the field of electrical engineering, he authored several books in the genres of literature, history, and genealogy.

T. Commerford Martin, 1887-88

T. Commerford Martin was an editor of electrical magazines and an author. He also worked for the U.S. Census Office from 1900-1915, where he wrote reports about electrical industries and utilities.

Edward Weston, 1888-89

Edward Weston improved electrical instruments so that they would be more portable and that their measurements would become more accurate. In 1908, his standard cell became the universal standard of electromotive force.

Elihu Thomson, 1889-90

Elihu Thomson’s invention of the 3 coil dynamo was the foundation to a successful electric lighting system that he and colleague E. J. Houston produced in 1879 through their company Thomson-Houston Electric Company. This company merged with Edison General Electric Company in 1892 to form General Electric Company.

William A. Anthony, 1890-91

William A. Anthony was a professor of physics and mechanics at many U.S. universities. In addition to teaching, he also contributed articles to many electrical engineering magazines, and was an electric engineer consultant in New York City.

Alexander Graham Bell, 1891-92

Alexander Graham Bell is most known for his invention of the telephone in 1876.

Frank Julian Sprague, 1892-93

Frank J. Sprague founded the Sprague Electric Railway and Motor Company, which later developed an electric railway system in Richmond Virginia using electric traction.

Edwin J. Houston, 1893-95

Edwin J. Houston collaborated with Elihu Thomson to create a successful electric lighting system. In addition to his inventions, Houston was also a university professor, author, and engineering consultant.

Louis Duncan, 1895-97

Louis Duncan served as an Electrical Engineering professor at Johns Hopkins University for 14 years. After retiring from his career in academia, Duncan was an engineering consultant for many traction, utility, and railway companies.

Francis B. Crocker, 1897-98

Francis B. Crocker pioneered the design for commercially successful motors. Crocker was also supported the national and international standardization of electrical equipment.

Arthur E. Kennelly, 1898-1900

Arthur E. Kennelly co-founded the Heaviside-Kennelly layer in the ionosphere with Oliver Heaviside in 1901, which contributed to the study of radio waves.

AIEE presidents, including Steinmetz at center
Carl Hering, 1900-01

Carl Hering was an electrical engineer who researched storage batteries, designed and improved the electric furnace, and made discoveries regarding electromagnetic force. Hering also published works about mechanical and electrical engineering.

Charles P. Steinmetz, 1901-02

Charles P. Steinmetz worked on inventions for electric motors, generators, and street cars. In addition to his research, he was an Electrophysics professor at Union University.

Charles F. Scott, 1902-03

Charles F. Scott created a new method for phase transformation called the “Scott Connection”. In 1911, Scott became an Electrical Engineering professor and served as the head of the Electrical Engineering Program at Yale University.

Bion J. Arnold, 1903-04

John W. Lieb, 1904-05

Schuyler Skaats Wheeler, 1905-06

Samuel Sheldon, 1906-07

Henry G. Stott, 1907-08

Louis A. Ferguson, 1908-09

Lewis B. Stillwell, 1909-10

A group of past presidents at the AIEE Chicago Convention, June 29, 1911. Photo appears on page 1773 of the 50th Anniversary special issue of "Electrical Engineering." Back row (l-r) Gano Dunn, Dugald C. Jackson, Louis A. Ferguson, Schulyer S. Wheeler, John W. Lied, and Bion J. Arnold. Front row (l-r) Francis C. Crocker, T. Commeford Martin, Frank J. Sprague and Charles P. Steinmetz.

Dugald C. Jackson, 1910-11

Gano Dunn, 1911-12

Ralph D. Mershon, 1912-13

C. O. Mailloux, 1913-14

Paul M. Lincoln, 1914-15

John J. Carty, 1915-16

Harold W. Buck, 1916-17

Edwin W. Rice, Jr., 1917-18

Comfort A. Adams, 1918-19

Calvert Townley, 1919-1920

Arthur W. Berresford, 1920-21

William McClellan, 1921-22

Frank B. Jewett, 1922-23

Harris J. Ryan, 1923-24

Farley Osgood, 1924-25

Michael I. Pupin, 1925-26

Cummings C. Chesney, 1926-27

Bancroft Gherardi, 1927-28

Rudolph F. Schuchardt, 1928-29

Harold B. Smith, 1929-30

William S. Lee, 1930-31

Charles E. Skinner, 1931-32

Harry P. Charlesworth, 1932-33

John B. Whitehead, 1933-34

J. Allen Johnson, 1934-35

Edward B. Meyer, 1935-36

Alexander M. MacCutcheon, 1936-37

William H. Harrison, 1937-38

John Castlereagh Parker, 1938-39

F. Malcolm Farmer, 1939-40

Royal W. Sorensen, 1940-41

David C. Prince, 1941-42

Harold S. Osborne, 1942-43

Nevin E. Funk, 1943-44

Charles A. Powel, 1944-45

William E. Wickenden, 1945-46

J. Elmer Housley, 1946-47

Blake D. Hull, 1947-48

Everett S. Lee, 1948-49

James F. Fairman, 1949-50

Titus G. LeClair, 1950-51

Fred O. McMillan, 1951-52

Donald A. Quarles, 1952-53

Elgin B. Robertson, 1953-54

Alexander C. Monteith, 1954-55

Morris D. Hooven, 1955-56

Mervin S. Coover, 1956-57

Walter J. Barrett, 1957-58

L. F. Hickernell, 1958-59

James H. Foote, 1959-60

Clarence H. Linder, 1960-61

Warren J. Chase, 1961-62

B. Richard Teare, Jr., 1962-63

See also Presidents of the IRE and Presidents of the IEEE.