Difference between revisions of "Oral-History:IEEE Past Presidents"

Line 13: Line 13:
<p>[[Oral-History:Henry Bachman|Henry L. Bachman (1987)]] </p>
<p>[[Oral-History:Henry Bachman|Henry L. Bachman (1987)]] </p>
<p>[[Oral-History:Emerson W. Pugh|Emerson W.Pugh (1989)]] </p>
<p>[[Oral-History:Emerson W. Pugh|Emerson W. Pugh (1989)]] </p>
<p>[[Oral-History:Bruce A. Eisenstein|Bruce Eisenstein (1990)]] </p>
<p>[[Oral-History:Bruce A. Eisenstein|Bruce Eisenstein (1990)]] </p>
Line 56: Line 56:
<p>[[Bruno Weinschel Oral History|Bruno Weinschel (1986)]] </p>
<p>[[Bruno Weinschel Oral History|Bruno Weinschel (1986)]] </p>

Revision as of 19:17, 23 March 2010

IEEE Past Presidents Oral Histories

In 2009, as part of the celebration of the 125th Anniversary of IEEE, the IEEE History Center undertook a project to record oral histories with as many living past presidents as possible.  These oral histories focus on the interviewees' experiences as IEEE leaders, rather than on their professional careers. To date, the following oral histories from the project have been completed and posted on the GHN. Additional interviews are being processed, and will be posted when completed.

Dates refer to the year the individual served as IEEE President:

Jerome Suran (1979)

Robert Larson (1982)

Charles "Bud" Eldon (1985)

Henry L. Bachman (1987)

Emerson W. Pugh (1989)

Bruce Eisenstein (1990)

Merrill Buckley (1992)

Troy Nagle (1994)

James Thomas "Tom" Cain (1995)

Wally Read (1996)

Charles "Chuck" Alexander (1997)

Ken Laker (1999)

Bruce Eisenstein (2000)

Joel Snyder (2001)

Ray Findlay (2002)

Michael Adler (2003)

Arthur Winston (2004)

In addition to their oral histories, eight past presidents participated in one of two video-taped panel discussions at the 2009 IEEE Conference on the History of Technical Societies.

The IEEE History Center earlier conducted oral histories with the following IEEE past presidents on their IEEE activities:

Ernst Weber (1963)

John Granger (1970)

James Mulligan (1971)

John Guarrera (1974)

Robert Saunders (1977)

Ivan Getting (1978)

Bruno Weinschel (1986)