India in Space

Revision as of 21:07, 16 September 2008 by Amarnathraja (talk | contribs)

India in Space

In 1947 on getting Independence from the British the young nation decided to follow the Democratic and Secular path giving importance to Science and Scientific Thinking. It was to the credit of the nations leaders that this path was chosen and it encouraged eminent scientists and technologists to pursue the path of scientific discovery that has now led the nation to its present position in Science and Technology.
India is presently one of the leaders in Space exploration and probably the fifth country to have a re-entry vehicle. Shortly in 2008, the Indian Mission to the moon “Chadrayan” is expected to be launched bringing India to a very exclusive club.

The whole saga of Space Exploration began in a very small way by setting up the INCOSPAR (India Committee for Space Research) headed by Dr. Vikram Sarabhai. In the early 60's the INCOSPAR established a Center near Thumba in Kerala State. Thumba was near the point where the Magnetic Equator crosses India's west coast. The center was named "Thumba Equatorial Rocket Launching Station" or TERLS.

The first Indian built rocket Rohini, blasted off successfully from TERLS in 1967. Dr Vikram Sarabhai led an eminent team that among others consisted of Dr. APJ Abdul Kalam. Rohini Rocket with two stages was also developed and tested in the same year. The entire design, fabrication, propellent and launch was done using indigenously developed technology.

The success of Rohini led the Government of India to establish the Indian Space Research Organisation (ISRO) under Dr. Sarabhai in [Year to be added]. This organization was given the twin job of developing both Satellite Launch Vehicles and the Satellites themselves.

TERLS was near a crowded city and on the West Coast. in order to utilize the energy of the spinning earth, a new location was chosen near Chennai on the east coast. This launch center at Shriharicotta called the Shriharicotta Satellite Launch Center (SHAR) is to this day being used to launch satellites.
India's first Satellite was launched from the Russian Facility at Baikinoor in 1975. It was named Aryabatta after the Indian astronomer who lived in the 4th century. After this followed a series of rocket improvements and Satellites.

The Indian Sattelite launch Vehicles and year of first use

SLV - The first Indian Sattelite Launch Vehicle - 1980

ASLV - Augumented Sattelite Launch Vehicle - 1987

PSLV - Polar Sattelite Launch Vehicle - 1994

GSLV - Geosyncronous Sattelite Launch Vehicle - 2000