IEEE Victorian Section History

Revision as of 00:30, 23 December 2008 by K3hz (talk | contribs)

Link to Section Homepage


The IEEE Victorian Section began originally as a sub-section to the then ‘Australia Section’. It was primarily driven by staff from the now historic Telecom Australia (Telstra) Research Laboratories located in Clayton.

The 1975 IEEE President, Arthur Stern, visited Australia in October 1975. In late 1975, as a result of an earlier petition, the Victorian Sub-Section was formed. The Victorian sub-section was active for around 3 years, and then became dormant.

The sub-section was rejuvenated and was re-formed as a Section on 12 August 1983.

The responsibility of this section covers the geographical area of Victoria and Tasmania, with most activity around the city of Melbourne.

Section Officers

IEEE Victorian Section Officers
Year Chair