IEEE South Africa Section History

Revision as of 17:43, 6 August 2012 by Administrator1 (talk | contribs)

List of Prominent Members


Since, 5 Aug. 1977, the Chairs of the IEEE South Africa Section have been based primarily in Pretoria, Johannesburg, Stellenbosch, and Cape Town:

  • Peter Calvert, G.E.C. Machines, Benoni, 1977/08/05 - 1978/09/30 -- Founding Chairperson
  • Peter J. Goddard, National Electrical Engineering Research Institute (NEERI), Council for Scientific and Industrial Research (CSIR), Pretoria, 1978/09/30 - 1984/08/31
  • Louis van Biljon, Univ. of Pretoria, Pretoria, 1984/09/01 - 1985/08/31
  • Johannes A. Malherbe, Univ. of Pretoria, Pretoria, 1985/08/01 - 1987/06/30
  • Christoff K. Pauw, Univ. of Pretoria, Pretoria, 1987/07/01 - 1989/03/31
  • Pieter W. Van Der Walt, Univ. of Stellenbosch, Stellenbosch, 1989/04/01 - 1991/02/28
  • Jan A. Ferreira, Rand Afrikaans University (now: University of Johannesburg), Johannesburg, 1991/03/01 - 1993/02/28
  • Duncan C. Baker, Univ. of Pretoria, Pretoria, 1993/03/01 - 1994/02/28
  • Willem J. Perold, Univ. of Stellenbosch, Stellenbosch, 1994/03/01 - 1997/02/28
  • Petrie Meyer, Univ. of Stellenbosch, Stellenbosch, 1997/03/01 - 1998/02/28
  • Gerhard P. Hancke, Univ. of Pretoria, Pretoria, 1998/03/01 - 2001/12/31
  • Willem A. Cronje, Univ. of Witwatersrand, Johannesburg, 2002/01/01 - 2002/12/31
  • Nico Beute, Cape Peninsula Univ. of Technology, Cape Town, 2003/01/01 - 2004/12/31
  • Marthinus W. Pretorius, Univ. of Pretoria, Pretoria, 2005/01/01 - 2006/12/31
  • Nico Beute, Cape Peninsula Univ. of Technology, Cape Town, 2007/01/01 - 2008/12/31
  • Saurabh Sinha, Univ. of Pretoria, Pretoria, 2009/01/01 - 2010/12/31
  • Jacques van Wyk, Univ. of Pretoria, Pretoria, 2011/01/01 - 2012/12/31

Honorary members


  • Prof. Jacobus van Wyk, LFIEEE'11
  • Prof. Duncan Baker, LFIEEE'11
  • Prof. Jan Malherbe, LFIEEE'08
  • Prof. Xiaohua Xia, FIEEE'10
  • Prof. David Davidson, FIEEE'12

History of Chapters

  • South Africa Section Jt. Chapter, AP03/MTT17/EMC27, Joint Chapter, 18-Apr-86
  • South Africa Section Jt. Chapter, SP01/COM19, Joint Chapter, 13-Jun-86
  • South Africa Section Chapter, C16 Chapter, 13-Apr-87
  • South Africa Jt. Chapter, IE13/PE31/IA34/PEL35, Joint Chapter, 16-Apr-90
  • South Africa Section Chapter, AES10/GRS29, Joint Chapter, 8-Jul-91
  • South Africa Section Chapter, CS23/RA24, Joint Chapter, 5-Feb-92
  • South Africa Section Jt. Chap, ED15/PHO36/CAS04, Joint Chapter, 10-Mar-95
  • South Africa Section Chapter, TM14, Chapter, 23-Jul-99
  • South Africa Section (Pretoria) Aff. Grp, GOLD Affinity, 15-Nov-02
  • South Africa Section Chapter,E25, Chapter, 18-Jun-05
  • South Africa Affinity Group, WIE Affinity, 8-Aug-05
  • South Africa Section (Cape Town) Aff. Grp, GOLD Affinity, 18-Oct-08
  • South Africa Section Chapter, SMC28, Chapter, 29-May-09
  • South Africa Section Chapter, CIS11, Chapter, 4-Jun-09
  • South Africa Section Chapter, NANO42, Chapter, 16-Jul-09
  • South Africa Section Chapter, PE31, Chapter, 27-Jan-10
  • South Africa Section Chapter, IT12, Chapter, 11-Mar-10

We would like to thank, Donna McClelland, IEEE Member and Geographic Activities Department, Piscataway, New Jersey, USA for providing the list of chairs. For more information, please contact: Donna McClelland, Tel: +1 732 562 5518


First Operational Use Of Wireless Telegraphy, 1899-1902


  • 2012 - MGA GOLD Achievement Award to Nana Ampofo Ampofo-Anti (R8), South Africa Section; For his dedicated efforts toward the success of IEEE EPICS-High Projects that have fostered IEEE member engagement through service to the community.

Further Reading

Visit the Section Website.

IEEE Geographic Unit Organizing Document

Petition letter, with list of petitioners, dated 1977, asking to create a South Africa Section of IEEE. Congratulatory letter from IEEE acknowledging the creation of South Africa Section.