IEEE Portugal Section History

Revision as of 11:24, 6 January 2012 by Jorgesoares (talk | contribs) (Student Branches)

Are you a member of Portugal section? Please help expand this page!


The IEEE Portugal Section covers the entire territory of continental Portugal and its islands, and belongs to Region 8 of IEEE (Europe, Middle East and Africa). It was established in 1981.

Section establishment

  • Petition letter with list of petitioners, dated 1981, requesting the establishment of the Portugal Section of IEEE.
  • Congratulatory letter from IEEE confirming the establishment of the section

Section Executive Committees


Student Branches

  • Universidade de Trás-Os-Montes e Alto Douro
  • Universidade de Aveiro (est. 1989)
  • Instituto Politécnico de Castelo Branco
  • Instituto Superior Técnico
    • Instituto Superior Técnico WiE Student AG (est. 2011)
  • Universidade Nova de Lisboa
  • Universidade do Minho
  • Universidade do Porto

Affinity Groups

  • Graduates of the Last Decade (GOLD), est. 2010
  • Women In Engineering (WiE), est. 2010

Technical Chapters

  • Communications Society Chapter
  • Computational Intelligence Society Chapter
  • Computer Society Chapter
  • CE/CAS/BT Joint Chapter
  • Education Society Chapter
  • Engineering in Medicine and Biology Society Chapter
  • Technology Management Council Chapter
  • IE/PEL/IA Joint Chapter
  • MTT/AP/ED/SSC Joint Chapter
  • Power Engineering Society Chapter
  • Robotics and Automation Society Chapter
  • Vehicular Technology Society Chapter

Student Activities Timeline

  • 2009: The Iberian Student Branch Congress was first organised. It was born out of a cooperation between the Instituto Superior Técnico and Instituto Politécnico de Castelo Branco Student Branches. It brought together for the first time the student branch volunteers from Portugal and Spain, as well as attendees from Region 8 and beyond, for a total of around 90. Since then, the event takes place every odd year, being alternately hosted by a Portuguese or a Spanish student branch.
  • 2010: 16 people from Portugal attend the SBC 2010 in Leuven, Brussels, making it the third largest delegation.
  • 2010: The first Portuguese Student Branch Congress was organised by the Universidade de Aveiro Student Branch. It's the yearly event for branch leadership in the Section. The follow-up event took place in Lisbon, October 2011, hosted by the Instituto Superior Técnico Student Branch.

Major Events


  • Eurocon 2011, Lisbon