IEEE New Zealand Central Section History

Revision as of 04:56, 12 May 2011 by Harrisr001 (talk | contribs) (Section Officers)

Are you a member of this section? Please help expand the article by using the edit tab....

Link to Section Homepage

IEEE Geographic Unit Organizing Document - New Zealand Central


IEEE New Zealand Central was approved on 25 August 2007 by the IEEE Region 10 executive, and with it existence, there are now amendments required to council bylaws (in progress), changes to regional areas ;and changes to joint chapters between sections within New Zealand.


On 15 April 2010, the IEEE Instrumentation and Measurement Chapter was formed. The event was launched at Massey University, Palmerston North campus.

On Februay 2011, the IEEE Power & Energy chapter was established.


Our Section now has a new IEEE Fellow: Subhas Chandra Mukhopadhyay who was the only Fellow listed from New Zealand in the 2010 awards list. The citation read: Subhas Chandra Mukhopadhyay, Massey University, Palmerston North, New Zealand - For development of low-cost smart sensors and sensing systems.

IEEE Best Paper Award from NZ Central Section for 2011, IEEE DONALD G. FINK PRIZE PAPER AWARD:

There were 3 co-recipients of this prestigious award, including Mr Mansoor Shafi (FIEEE) from our executove committee. Society Affiliation: Communications Society, Vehicular Technology Society for their paper entitled “Propagation Issues for Cognitive Radio,” Proceedings of the IEEE, Vol. 97, No. 5, May 2009.

Membership Profile

2007 - 210 members

2008 - 252 members

2009 - 255 members

2010 - 303 members

Section Officers

Year Chair Secretary Treasurer
2007 Murray Milner Subhas Mukhopadhyay Duncan Hall
2008 Murray Milner Subhas Mukhopadhyay Duncan Hall
2009 Murray Milner Subhas Mukhopadhyay Duncan Hall
2010 Richard Harris Pawel Dmochowski Gourab Sen Gupta
2011 Richard Harris Pawel Dmochowski Gourab Sen Gupta