IEEE Medal for Environmental and Safety Technologies

Revision as of 14:54, 26 June 2013 by Tjeffres (talk | contribs) (Award Recipients)


IEEE Medal for Environmental and Safety Technologies.jpg

The IEEE Medal for Environmental and Safety Technologies was established in 2008 for outstanding accomplishments in the application of technology in the fields of interest of IEEE that improve the environment and/or public safety.

Award Recipients

  • 2010 - John L. Chalfan, Viccy Salazar, Wayne F. Rifer, “For developing and bringing into operation EPEAT, the Electronic Product Environmental Assessment Tool, that measures product’s environmental performance.”
  • 2011 - Shoichi Sasaki, “For pioneering contributions to the development and market penetration of hybrid electric vehicles (HEVs) through the invention of their power output apparatus and control method.”
  • 2012 - John Bannister Goodenough, Rachid Yazami, Akira Yoshino, “For developing the lithium-ion battery, which enables significant fuel conservation and reduced emissions as power storage for electric vehicles and for smartgrids incorporating renewables.”