IEEE Germany Section History

Revision as of 15:56, 25 January 2012 by Administrator1 (talk | contribs)

Are you a member of this section? Please help expand the article by using the edit tab....

Link to Section Homepage

Establishment of the Section

The IEEE Germany Section has been formed on 12th of July 1963, in the same year in which IEEE was ascending from the merger of the American Institute of Electrical Engineers (AIEE founded in 1884) and the Institute of Radio Engineers (IRE, founded in 1912).

Zertifikat IEEE

The inauguration meeting in Germany was held on 6.4.64 in the "Künstlerhaus" in Munich. Twentyfour attending IEEE members elected the members of the first IEEE Germany Section EXCOM consisting of

Chairman Dr.-Ing Dr.-Ing. hc L. Rohde (Rohde & Schwarz, Munich) IEEE, VDE, NTG,

Vice Chairman Prof. Dr.Phil Fränz (Telefunken, Ulm)IEEE, VDE, NTG,

Secretary Dr.-Ing. H.H. Burghoff (VDE.NTG, Frankfurt)IEEE ,VDE, NTG,

Treasurer Dr.Techn J. Berghammer (Siemens, Munich)IEEE, VDE, NTG,

Assessor Prof. Dr phil nat. H.H. Meinke (Univ. of Munich)IEEE, VDE, NTG,

Assessor Dr.-Ing. Jacottet (VDE,NTG, Frankfurt).

The EXCOM agreed unanimously on a friendly mutual cooperation with the existing National Societies VDE and ITG for the benefit of Electrical Engineering in Germany and the EE Community world wide.

List of Section Chairs

  • Lothar Rohde 1963/1969
  • Prof. Kurt O. Fraenz 1970/1972
  • Prof. Werner Kleen 1973/1978
  • Walter Proebster 1979/___
  • Prof.H.J. Schmitt ___/___
  • Hugo Ruechardt ___/___
  • Prof. Rudolf Saal 1981/1987
  • Prof.Dr. Adolf Schwab 1988/1996
  • Prof.Dr. Rolf Jansen 1997/1999
  • Prof.Dr.Hans Hartnagel 2000/2002
  • Prof.Dr. Adolf Schwab 2003/2006
  • Dr. Andreas Luxa 2007/2010
  • Dr. Axel Richter 2011


The IEEE Germany Section covers the area of the Federal Republic of Germany and has currently more than 5.600 active members in 2009.


Student Branches

IEEE Student Branches exist at the Universities:

University Chair Counselor
Aachen Marco Stieneker Univ.-Prof. Dr. ir. Rik DeDoncker
Bielefeld Arne Ellerbrock Prof. Dr. Jens Haubrock
Bochum Prof. Dr.-Ing. Christof Paar
Bonn i.G. Alexander Willner Prof. Peter Martini
Duisburg-Essen Jan Förster Prof. Dr. Daniel Erni
Hamburg-Harburg Adwait-Remy Vaidya Prof. Dr. Hermann Rohling
Hannover Evgeni Genender Prof. Dr.-Ing. Heyno Garbe
Ilmenau Steffen Schlegel Prof. Martin Haardt
Karlsruhe Ralph Tanbourgi Prof. Dr.-Ing. Jürgen Becker
Magdeburg Marcel Benecke Prof. Dr.-Ing. Andreas Lindemann
München Arne Redl Prof. Eckehard Steinbach
Passau Robert Hofmann Prof. Dr. Harald Kosch
Stuttgart Stefan Heck Prof. Dr.-Ing. Manfred Berroth



  • Milestones
  • Awards


The IEEE Germany Section announces its first chapter formation in the IEEE Consumer Electronics Society in March 2010.

Chapter (Society) Chair e-mail
Computer Prof. Jörg Henkel
Circuits and Systems Prof. Wolfgang Mathis
Consumer Electronics Prof. Dr. Hans Cycon
Computational Intelligence Prof. Andreas König
Communications Prof. Hermann Rohling
Components, Packaging and Manufacturing Technology Dr.-Ing. Dr. sc. Klaus-Dieter Lang
Education Society Dr. Fanny Klett
Electron Devices Society Prof. Dr. Joachim Burghartz
Engineering in Medicine Prof. Dr. rer. phys. Thomas Penzel
Electromagnetic Compatibility Dr. Frank Sabath
Geoscience & Remote Sensing Prof. Dr. Irena Hajnsek
Joint Industry Applications / Power Electronics / Industrial Electronics Prof. Dr.-Ing. Axel Mertens
Instrumentation and Measurement Prof. Dr.-Ing. Olfa Kanoun
Information Theory Prof. Holger Boche
Photonics Society, formerly Lasers and Electro-Optics Prof. Dieter Jäger
Magnetics Dr. Jürgen Fassbender
Microwave Theory and Techniques / Antennas and Propagation Prof. Dr.-Ing. Georg Böck
Nuclear and Plasma Sciences Prof. Dr. Klaus Frank
Power & Energy Univ.-Prof. Dr.-Ing. Wolfram H. Wellßow
Robotics and Automation Prof. Rüdiger Dillmann
Systems, Man and Cybernetics (closed 2011) -------------- --------------
Signal Processing Prof. Udo Zölzer
Solid State Circuits Prof. Dr.-Ing. Holger Blume
Technology Management Council Klaus-Dieter Heerklotz
Ultrasonics, Ferroelectrics and Frequency Control Prof. Dr.-Ing. Georg Schmitz


Section Officers



Executive Committee Team 2011

Officer Name e-mail
Chairman Dr.-Ing. Axel Richter
Vice Chairman Dr.-Ing. Toni Göller
Treasurer Prof. Dr.-Ing. Ralph M. Kennel
Secretary Dr.-Ing. Volker Schanz
Senior Past Chairman Prof. Dr.-Ing. Adolf Schwab
Junior Past Chairman Dr.-Ing. Andreas Luxa
Awards/Fellows Officer -------- --------
Chapter Coordinator Prof. Dr.-Ing. Ingo Hahn
Electronic Communications Officer Stephan Wagner
Chairman Membership Development R8 -------- --------
GOLD Coordinator Andreas Neumeier
Industry Relation Officer Prof. Dr.-Ing. Dirk Westermann
Membership Data Admin. Matthias Kneissl
Membership Development Prof. Dr. Jens Haubrock
Public Relations Officer Manuel Kennel
HQ Relations Officer Gerald Anleitner
Student Branch Coordinator Martin Stötzer
WIE Coordinator Dr. Tiziana Bertoncelli

Relationship between Section and National Engineering Society

2009-2010 Chair: Dr.-Ing. Andreas Luxa

IEEE Geographic Unit Organizing Document - Germany