Difference between revisions of "IEEE Awards"

Line 68: Line 68:
*[[IEEE Nikola Tesla Award]]
*[[IEEE Nikola Tesla Award]]
*[[IEEE Kiyo Tomiyasu Award]]
*[[IEEE Kiyo Tomiyasu Award]]
*[[IEEE Transportation Technologies Award]]
=== Recognitions ===
=== Recognitions ===

Revision as of 14:30, 11 May 2012

IEEE Awards

Awards Judging, IEEE Headquarters, 1970. All judges are key advertising and agency executives from GE, XEROX, Eastman Kodak, Westing House, etc. The smiling man standing to the left of the man in black glasses at the table's center is William ("Bill") R. Saunders who was Spectrum's advertising director in 1969 and was Spectrum's Associate Publisher.

IEEE and its predecessors societies have long given awards to recognize a variety of outstanding achievements in fields of interest. IEEE's Edison Medal was first awarded by predecessor AIEE in 1909 to Elihu Thomson; IEEE's Medal of Honor, the Insitute's highest award, was first by predecessor IRE in 1917 to Edwin H. Armstrong.

IEEE Awards are overseen by the IEEE Awards Board, a standing committee of the IEEE Board of Directors. There is a complete year-by-year list of Awards Board members available here.

As of 2009, IEEE awarded in addition to these two medals, 13 other medals, 31 technical field awards, 2 IEEE service awards, 2 corporate recognitions, 2 prize paper awards, honorary memberships, one scholarship, one fellowship, a staff award, and one co-sponsored award. Many of the the awards are presented to their recipient at an annual IEEE Honors Ceremony.

Descriptions of each award, accompanied by lists of the winners, can be found here.

For citations of the medal winners through 1984, see section one of the IEEE book A Century of Honors.

List of IEEE Awards


Technical Field Awards


Service Awards

Corporate Recognitions

Prize Papers

  • IEEE W. R. G. Baker Award
  • IEEE Donald G. Fink Award

Fellowships and Scholarships

  • IEEE Life Member Graduate Study Fellowship in Electrical Engineering
  • IEEE Charles LeGeyt Fortescue Scholarship

Discontinued Awards

  • IEEE Reynold B. Johnson Data Storage Device Technology Award
  • IEEE Medal for Engineering Excellence
  • IEEE Heinrich Hertz Medal
  • IEEE Lamme Medal
  • IEEE Browder J. Thompson Memorial Prize Paper Award
  • IEEE Leon K. Kirchmayer Prize Paper Award
  • IEEE Harry Diamond Memorial Award
  • IEEE William M. Habirshaw Award
  • IEEE Award in International Communication
  • IEEE Mervin J. Kelly Award
  • IEEE Morris E. Leeds Award
  • IEEE Morris N. Liebmann Memorial Award
  • IEEE Jack A. Morton Award
  • IEEE Vladimir K. Zworykin Award