IEEE Arkansas Section History

Revision as of 17:25, 18 September 2012 by Kennethm (talk | contribs)

Arkansas Historical Notes

Originally Prepared: September 18, 2012

Kenneth Moss

The American Institute of Electrical Engineers (AIEE) was founded on May 13, 1884 in New York and quickly gained recognition as a representative for American electrical engineers. The Institute of Radio Engineers (IRE) was formed from two largely local organizations, the ‘Society of Wireless and Telegraph Engineers’ and the ‘Wireless Institute.’

The AIEE Arkansas Section was established in 1947 (exact date not known); the IRE Little Rock Section was established on February 12, 1952; the IEEE Arkansas Section was formed by the merger of the two Societies in 1963.

The first chairman of the Arkansas AIEE was J.H. Tole and the society promoted a different chairman for each year until the merger. G.H. Scott was the first chairmen of the local branch of the IRE. The first year of the merger saw dual leadership, with C.E. Hallman representing the AIEE and A.E. McDonald representing the IRE.

Currently, Arkansas is part of Region 5, in the IEEE organizational structure. Additionally, Arkansas has an area specific website that includes information about meeting times, officers, and newsletter.

Officer List for Early Years

Year: IEEE Chairman: Vice Chairman:

1974-1975 W.G. Hinson R.E. Brown
J.H. Brewer
W.G. Hinson
S.H. Grimmett
J.H. Brewer
C.F. Cole
S.H. Grimmett, Jr.
J.F. Malone
E.E. Thompson
J.F. Malone
L.H. Fish
E.E Thompson
R.E. Russell, Jr.
L.H. Fish
A.E. Ray
R.E. Russell, Jr.
R.W. Newby, Jr.
A.E. Ray
S.L. Berg
R.W. Newby
R.W. Toler, Jr.
S.L. Berg

C.E. Hallman (AIEE)

A.E. McDonald (IRE)

Year: AIEE Chairman: Secretary: 1961-1962 W.E. Shaffer R.W. Toler, Jr. 1960-1961 H.H. Davenport C.E. Hallmann 1959-1960 K.J. Poole H.H. Davenport 1958-1959 M.M. Riggs H.R. Rowe 1957-1958 H.J. Owen K.J. Poole 1956-1957 R.H. Boyd M.M. Riggs 1955-1956 K.C. Johnson H.J. Owen 1954-1955 D.A. Schmand R.H. Boyd 1953-1954 W.A. Bost D.A. Schmand 1952-1953 C.E. Hutchinson W.M. Appell 1951-1952 R.J. Rhinehart W.A Bost 1950-1951 M.E. Crippen C.E. Hutchinson 1949-1950 W.A. Lewis, Jr. M.E. Crippen 1948-1949 H.W. Claybaugh T.B. Lewis 1947-1948 J.H. Tole H.W. Claybaugh

IRE Chairman Secretary R.V. Anders W.C Allsopp R.W. Raible L.H. Hardy V.J. Dillaplain R.V. Anders J.D. Reid E.E. Cordrey D.L. Winn F.J. Wilson D.L. Winn Jim Spilman J.E. Wylie Jim Spilman Raymond Beem D.L. Winn W.F. Stewart V.L. Dillaplain G.H. Scott V.L. Dillapain