AIEE, IRE, and IEEE members who won Nobel Prizes

Revision as of 15:37, 3 November 2009 by Nbrewer (talk | contribs)

IEEE (including AIEE, IRE) Members who have Won Nobel Prizes

Zhores I Alferov, 2000, Physics

Edward Appleton (MH), 1947, Physics

Nicolaas Bloembergen (MH), 1981, Physics

Willard S. Boyle, 2009. Physics

Willem Einthoven, 1924, Medicine

Leo Esaki (MH), 1973, Physics

  • Brian Josephson, 1973, Physics

Charles K. Kao, 2009, Physics

Jack S. Kilby (MH), 2000, Physics

Herbert Kroemer, 2000, Physics

Irving Langmuir, 1932, Chemistry (P)

  • Leon M Lederman, 1988, Physics

Guglielmo Marconi (MH), 1909, Physics

Arthur Schawlow, 1981, Physics

William Shockley (MH), 1956, Physics

George E. Smith, 2009, Physics

Charles Townes (MH), 1964, Physics

Robert W. Wilson, 1978, Physics


MH = winner of IEEE (or predecessor organization) Medal of Honor

P = Langmuir was IRE President in 1923

  • = IEEE Honorary Member

More on the Nobel Prizes and the individuals who won them can be found at the web sites of the Nobel Prize Committee and the Nobel Museum.