IEEE Ottawa Section History

IEEE Ottawa Section History
Established date 1944-09-01
IEEE Region 7
IEEE Council
Geographic region Ottawa
Region area
Principal cities
Home page
List of Subsections in this Section

The IEEE Eastern Canada Council (ECC) is one of three that make up IEEE Canada (Region 7 of IEEE). It convenes as a committee made up of executive representatives from the Montreal, Ottawa, Saint Maurice, Quebec, Canadian Atlantic, New Brunswick and Newfoundland & Labrador Sections. Its primary purpose is to assist in the development and expansion of communications and training of IEEE Council executives and to assist and encourage communication between the Sections within the Council and IEEE offices. Officially established on August 28, 1969, its original Bylaws were approved at the first meeting of Council on February 18, 1970.

The Ottawa Section is after Montreal the oldest ECC member, being founded in 1944. Being at the heart of Canada's silicon valley, Ottawa hosts about 50% of the Council membership, thus making it the largest of the seven. The challenge of staying in touch with its members, has led to the launching of the IEEE Canada Electronic Newsletter. Through E-mail, this can reach out to all IEEE members across the country. With 13 technical Chapters, the Ottawa Section has been very active with education in the community and industry. A significant event for the Section, the city of Ottawa and indeed the country was when the IEEE designated the Alouette/IRIS Satellite Program as an International Milestone of Electrical Engineering.


The IEEE Industry Applications Society Chapter was established in February 2014

Archival documents

Further Reading

Link to Section Homepage